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Welcome to Issue 1 of the Legislative Update.

o The weekly Legislative Update provides information on disability related bills. For more details on a specific
bill, please click on the bill number.

e |[f there has been action on a bill in the current week, the status is listed in red.

e To learn more about the legislative process consider attending the Legislative Education Project training or
watching our online modules and videos.

e Please contact our office (Laura.Mueth@oa.mo.gov) if you need a different format.

Past issues are online at Legislative Updates.

Access to individual bill information is available on the Missouri Senate’s website at Bill Search

A glossary of legislative terms can be found at the Missouri House of Representatives Legislative Terms

Most of the summaries are prepared by the Research Staff of the Missouri House of Representatives and

Missouri Senate and are used by permission.

Note: When “incapacitated,” “handicapped,” etc. appear in a bill description, it reflects the terminology of the
legislation, not the Governor’s Council on Disability.
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ASSISTIVE TECHNOLOGY
No pending bills

CRIME
HB 1450 Lewis, Ed

Modifies and establishes provisions relating to the protection of children and vulnerable persons

This bill adds vulnerable persons to statute 492.304 regarding visual and aural recordings of a verbal or
nonverbal statement being allowed as evidence. Vulnerable person means someone who lacks the ability to
consent due to inadequately developed or impaired intelligence or a psychiatric disorder that materially affects
the ability to function. It also includes a developmental level less than eighteen years old.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1710 Schnelting

Modifies the offense of abuse of an elderly person, a person with a disability, or a vulnerable person

This bill makes it a class E felony if a care provider commits the offense of abuse of a person with a disability, a
person who is elderly, or a person who is vulnerable.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2064 Black

Establishes provisions relating to mental health courts

This bill allows circuit courts to establish mental health courts as an alternative for handling cases which come
from a mental health or co-occurring disorder.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

SB 905 Coleman
Modifies provisions relating to the protection of vulnerable persons

Only the sections related to people with disabilities are summarized.

This act repeals provisions of law allowing for individuals convicted of certain drug offenses to participate in
SNAP only if certain conditions are met. Under this act, individuals convicted of a state or federal felony drug
offense shall not be excluded from SNAP for such conviction. This act provides that visual or audio recordings of
a child under 18 years of age or a vulnerable person relating to certain criminal offenses shall be admissible in
criminal proceedings under certain circumstances.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 906 Coleman
Modifies provisions relating to the sexual exploitation of vulnerable persons

Only the section related to people with disabilities is summarized.

This act provides that visual or audio recordings of a child under 18 years of age or a vulnerable person relating
to certain criminal offenses shall be admissible in criminal proceedings under certain circumstances.
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https://www.senate.mo.gov/24info/BTS_Web/Bill.aspx?SessionType=R&BillID=199
https://www.senate.mo.gov/Senators/Member/22
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Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 1012 Arthur
Modifies provisions relating to the protection of vulnerable persons

Only the section related to people with disabilities is summarized.

This act repeals provisions of law allowing for individuals convicted of certain drug offenses to participate in
SNAP only if certain conditions are met. Under this act, individuals convicted of a state or federal felony drug
offense shall not be excluded from SNAP for such conviction.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 1245 Thompson Rehder

Modifies provisions relating to children and vulnerable persons

Only the section related to people with disabilities is summarized.

This act provides that visual or audio recordings of a child under 18 years of age or a vulnerable person relating
to certain criminal offenses shall be admissible in criminal proceedings under certain circumstances.
Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

EDUCATION
HB 1568 Kelley

Modifies provisions governing school employee training requirements

This bill changes the seclusion and restraint policy, youth suicide training requirements for school employees
from annually to time frames as specified in the bill. For the 2024-2025 school year the training will be provided
in the first three years of employment for new hires and as determined by the district, school or employee
needs for other employees. Beginning with the 2025-2026 school year, all employees will receive any new
training, instruction or education specified in state law or by the Department of Elementary and Secondary
Education for three years before other allowances are implemented.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1581 Nurrenbern

Modifies provisions relating to corporal punishment in schools

This bill requires that school discipline policies prohibit corporal punishment and spanking.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1663 Peters

Establishes written parental consent requirements for individualized education programs (IEPs)
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This bill requires school districts or other entities serving a student with an IEP to obtain written consent from
parents regarding initial placement, annual placement, placement change, location change, removal of a service
or reduction or addition of the service minutes by more than 25% as well as the cumulative service minutes for
all services provided during the year from the date the IEP is effective. Written documentation of the date of
parental consent will be kept by the school district or entity. If full agreement is not reached, the new IEP will be
implemented in areas where there is agreement and the old IEP when the parties last agreed will be
implemented for the areas of disagreements until the areas of disagreements are resolved. The Department of
Elementary and Secondary Education will adopt a consent form in line with what is specified in the bill. Parents
have a right to visit any classroom or program being proposed for their child before consenting to changes. The
visits will be scheduled before or after school. The options for resolution of disagreements between parties
remain unchanged.

Status: 1/5/24 Referred Elementary and Secondary Education committee (H)
Committee: Elementary and Secondary Education

HB 1677 Mackey

Bans using seclusion to confine a student

This bill bans schools and publicly contracted private providers from using seclusion to confine a student
beginning with the 2025-2026 school year. All seclusion and restraint policies will be updated to reflect the new
definition of seclusion as outlined in the bill and to specifically ban the use of seclusion.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1688 Reedy

Requires public schools to offer a driver education course that students must complete before graduating

This bill requires all public school and charter school students to complete a driver education course offered by
their schools to graduate. The State Board of Education and will develop and recommend a course. Schools are
not required to use the developed course. Students are not required to physically operate a vehicle as part of
the course. The requirement will begin with the 2025-2026 school year.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1714 Byrnes

Enacts provisions providing protections for parents in school district encounters

This bill requires school districts or other entities serving a student with an IEP to obtain written consent from
parents regarding initial placement, annual placement, placement change, location change, removal of a service
or reduction or addition of the service minutes by more than 25% as well as the cumulative service minutes for
all services provided during the year from the date the IEP is effective. Written documentation of the date of
parental consent will be kept by the school district or entity. If full agreement is not reached, the new IEP will be
implemented in areas where there is agreement and the old IEP when the parties last agreed will be
implemented for the areas of disagreements until the areas of disagreements are resolved. The Department of

Elementary and Secondary Education will adopt a consent form in line with what is specified in the bill. Parents
4


https://house.mo.gov/Bill.aspx?bill=HB1677&year=2024&code=R
https://house.mo.gov/memberdetails.aspx?district=099&year=2024&code=R
https://house.mo.gov/Bill.aspx?bill=HB1688&year=2024&code=R
https://house.mo.gov/memberdetails.aspx?district=057&year=2024&code=R
https://house.mo.gov/Bill.aspx?bill=HB1714&year=2024&code=R
https://house.mo.gov/memberdetails.aspx?district=063&year=2024&code=R

102nd General Assembly 2024 Issue 1, January 5, 2024

have a right to visit any classroom or program being proposed for their child before consenting to changes. The
visits will be scheduled before or after school. The options for resolution of disagreements between parties
remain unchanged. School districts can’t use attorneys for litigating or providing counsel regarding IEP decisions
or evaluations if the attorney contracts with or employs district employees or members. The bill also places the
burden of proof and burden of production on the school district in due process hearings for a student with a
disability. The bill adds provisions related to staying put while a proceeding is pending.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1715 Byrnes

Establishes antibullying requirements for school districts

This bill requires the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education to develop a bullying and school
discipline model policy. Each school district will adopt the policy for the 2024-2025 school year. The minimum to
be included in the policy is outlined in the bill. The bill also requires school administration to provide a monthly
report to the school board regarding the number of bullying acts, discipline of students who have bullied other
students, and all other discipline referrals. The school board will review each report in a closed meeting. The
board will address and resolve all expressed concerns. The bill also provides protections for employees who
intervene in school violence, violent behavior or crime against a victim of bullying.

Status: 1/4/24 Referred Elementary and Secondary Education committee (H)

Committee: Elementary and Secondary Education

HB 1739 Richey

Enacts provisions governing public elementary and secondary school students

Only the section related to individuals with disabilities is summarized.

The “Parents Bill of Rights Act of 2024” is established. It outlines rights parents have in the school setting. They
include the ability to view curriculum and records as well as control collection and transmission of data about a
child. It also gives them the right to have the names of anyone who has taught the child including guest speakers
and anyone receiving contracts or funding. Parents have the right to be informed of safety incidents.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1757 Pollitt

Establishes transfer procedures to nonresident districts for students in public schools

This bill establishes the “Public School Open Enrollment Act”. This will allow a student to attend school in a
nonresident school district. Each school district will indicate by December 1 of each year whether it will
participate in the open enrollment program for the next school year. School districts are allowed to restrict the
number of students who can transfer to a nonresident district. The Department of Elementary and Secondary
Education will create an online searchable database for schools to use. School districts are not required to
provide special education services for nonresident students if based on the district’s model policy it is not able

to provide appropriate services. The procedure for assessing this and the approval or rejection of the transfer
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application is described in the bill. School districts who work with a special school district will have an agreement
with the special school district for special education services before participating in the program. A model policy
to assist with the transfer application processes. The bill includes provisions related to transportation of
students who have IEPs and the reimbursement for special education services. A waiting list can also be
established.

Status: 12/19/23 Withdrawn (H)

HB 1771 Perkins
Establishes provisions governing automated external defibrillators in schools

This bill requires that beginning with the 2025-2026 school year automatic external defibrillators (AED) are
installed in locations on each school campus as outlined. Appropriate school staff will receive training prior to
the 2024-2025 school year and annual training in future years on AED use. The bill also requires appropriate
maintenance of all AEDs in the school. Each school will designate a coordinator to oversee aspects related to the
school AEDs. Reporting to the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education is also required. Students
will receive training related to AED use as part of their required cardiopulmonary resuscitation training
beginning with the 2024-2025 school year.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1806 Mackey
Prohibits zero-tolerance policies or practices of discipline in public schools

This bill requires all school districts to prohibit zero-tolerance disciplinary policy or practice that results in an
automatic consequence without allowing for modification on a case-by-case basis.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1852 Peters

Requires implementation of health and safety measures in public schools

This bill requires that beginning with the 2025-2026 school year automatic external defibrillators (AED) are
installed in locations on each school campus as outlined. Appropriate school staff will receive training prior to
the 2024-2025 school year and annual training in future years on AED use. The bill also requires appropriate
maintenance of all AEDs in the school. Each school will designate a coordinator to oversee aspects related to the
school AEDs. Reporting to the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education is also required. Students
will receive training related to AED use as part of their required cardiopulmonary resuscitation training
beginning with the 2024-2025 school year. The bill also requires that beginning with the 2024-2025 school year
students receive thirty minutes of instruction in opioid use prevention and training in administering naloxone.
The training must be provided by a certified naloxone administration instructor. The “Public Access to Naloxone
(Narcan) Kits Act” is created. It allows school boards and charter school boards to develop and implement a
program to train students and staff in naloxone use and administration. It also provides protections for

individuals who administers naloxone in good faith for emergency care.
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Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1917 Doll

Requires hearing screenings for students

This bill requires all schools to provide hearing screenings for students entering kindergarten or first grade
beginning with the 2025-2026 school year. The school board is required to provide hearing screening program
information to all parents prior to August 1. School boards can provide the screenings, contract with another
entity to provide the screenings, or require parents to obtain the screening from a provider the parent selects.
Exemptions and ways to opt out are specified. Depending on which option is chosen by the school board,
requirements are in the bill. The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education and the Department of
Health and Senior Services will develop a model program. The model program can be adopted or adapted by
school boards. Further special education assessment will be conducted if the screening results show that is
warranted.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1989 Pollitt

Establishes transfer procedures to nonresident districts for students in public schools

This bill creates a public school open enrollment program. It allows a student to attend school in a school district
where he/she is not a resident. School districts are not required to participate and must determine by December
1 of each year whether they will participate for the next school year. Each participating school district’s school
board will adopt application acceptance and rejection standards. Districts can put limits on the number of
students who can transfer from the district. School districts are not required to provide special education
services for nonresident students when it determines it is unable to meet the special education needs of the
student after consultation with the resident school district and any other entities providing services to the child.
It requires districts being served by a special school district to consult with the special school district before
entering open enrollment. It allows nonresident school districts to enter into transportation agreements with
parents of students who have an IEP in which transportation is a related service. School districts will determine
the number of transfer of students it is able to receive. A fund is created which will provide reimbursements to
schools which participate in the program. One of the uses for the money in the fund is to reimburse for special
education costs for a program student beyond the state and federal reimbursement.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1991 Gallick

Requires schools to establish cardiac emergency response plans

This bill requires school districts to establish cardiac emergency response plans beginning with the 2025-2026
school year. The purpose of the plan is to address the use of school employees in the event of a sudden cardiac
incident. The bill specifies what should be included in the plan.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)


https://house.mo.gov/Bill.aspx?bill=HB1917&year=2024&code=R
https://house.mo.gov/memberdetails.aspx?district=091&year=2024&code=R
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HB 2094 Reuter

Requires school districts to provide instruction in cursive writing

This bill requires school districts and charter schools to provide cursive writing instruction to students so
students are able to create readable documents using cursive writing by the end of fifth grade. Students must
pass a teacher-created proficiency test on reading and writing cursive.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2113 Oehlerking

Establishes written parental consent requirements for individualized education programs (IEPs)

This bill requires school districts or other entities serving a student with an IEP to obtain written consent from
parents regarding initial placement, annual placement, placement change, location change, removal of a service
or reduction or addition of the service minutes by more than 30% as well as the reduction or addition of
cumulative service minutes by 30% for all services provided during the year from the date the IEP is effective.
Written documentation of the date of parental consent will be kept by the school district or entity. If full
agreement is not reached, the new IEP will be implemented in areas where there is agreement and the old IEP
when the parties last agreed will be implemented for the areas of disagreements until the areas of
disagreements are resolved. The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education will adopt a consent form
in line with what is specified in the bill. The form will be used by each district or entity. Parents have a right to
visit any classroom or program being proposed for their child before consenting to changes. The visits will be
scheduled before or after school. The options for resolution of disagreements between parties remain
unchanged.

Status: 1/5/24 Referred Elementary and Secondary Education committee (H)

Committee: Elementary and Secondary Education

HB 2123 Mackey
Establishes reporting requirements for school districts and the Department of Elementary and Secondary

Education when a pupil commits suicide

This bill requires school districts to report student suicides they are aware of to the Department of Elementary
and Secondary Education. It also requires that the Department publish the number of students who commit
suicide per district. This will be done annually.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2160 Baker

Establishes provisions governing duties and responsibilities of public education entities

Only the sections related to people with disabilities are summarized.

This bill creates the Parents Bill of Rights Act. It allows parents the right to enroll a child in an education option
allowed by law. It outlines rights parents have in the public school setting. They include the ability to visit during
8
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school hours, to view curriculum and records as well as control collection and transmission of data about a child.
It also gives them the right to have the names of anyone who has taught the child including guest speakers and
anyone receiving contracts or funding. Parents have the right to be informed of safety incidents and school
board information. Each school district and charter school will develop policies to assist and accommodate
parents with these rights by the 2025-2026 school year. It includes information on what schools and school
employees cannot do. It outlines what information must be available on the school website.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2252 Johnson, Michael

Requires school districts to excuse students with mental or behavioral health concerns from attendance at

school

This bill requires school districts to allow students in 6™ through 12" grade to be excused from school at least
one day a week to attend mental health appointments. Parents must provide notice and proof of the mental
health appointment, if requested by the district. This will begin with the 2025-2026 school year.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2287 Christofanelli

Modifies provisions related to the virtual school program

Only the section related to people with disabilities is summarized.

This bill requires that virtual school programs ensure that any enrolling student with a covered disability have an
individualized education program and a related services agreement in place should it be needed.
Status: 1/4/24 Introduced and First Read (H)

SB 728 Koenig

Creates provisions relating to public elementary and secondary school students

Only the section related to people with disabilities is summarized.

This act creates the "Parents' Bill of Rights Act of 2024", which shall be construed to empower parents to
enforce rights, as delineated in the act, to access records maintained by schools in which their children are
enrolled in a timely manner or as specified in the act. The act defines a "school" as a public school, school
district, charter school, or virtual school authorized under the provisions of the Missouri Course Access and
Virtual School Program. No school shall require nondisclosure agreements for a parent's review of curricula, and
each school shall allow parents, within two business days upon request, to review or make a copy of curriculum
documents or to receive such documents in an electronic format, provided that no request would cause an
infringement of copyright protections under the federal Copyright Act of 1976. Where the curricular materials
being made available to parents for review are subject to copyright, trademark, or other intellectual property
protection, the review process shall include technical and procedural safeguards to ensure that the materials are
not able to be widely disseminated to the general public in violation of the intellectual property rights of the

publisher or any contractual agreements between the publisher and the school, and that content validity is not
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undermined. If more than twenty pages are being copied using the school's equipment, the school may, at the
school's discretion, charge the parent a fee described in the act. No school shall collect any biometric data of a
minor child without obtaining parental consent, except for biometric data necessary to create and issue
appropriate school identification cards. A school that collects such data shall ensure that all copies of such data
are destroyed within one year of a student's withdrawal of participation in all school activities. Finally, each
school shall notify parents of certain safety incidents and criminal charges filed against teachers, employees, and
any guests or visitors to a school, as outlined in the act.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 761 May

Authorizes excusal from attendance at an elementary or secondary school if the child is unable to attend due to

mental or behavioral health concerns

This act provides that a child may be excused from attendance at school if the child is unable to attend school
due to mental or behavioral health concerns, provided that the school receives documentation from a mental
health professional.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 762 May

Modifies provisions relating to suicide prevention in educational institutions

This act modifies provisions of current law that require suicide prevention information to be printed on the
identification cards of public school students in grades 7-12 and of students enrolled in public institutions of
higher education. The act adds to such information the phone number of campus security for college students
and, for students in grades 7-12, the non-emergency phone number of the local police department. For both
college students and students in grades 7-12, the identification cards may also include the phone number of the
Crisis Text Line and the phone number of a local suicide prevention hotline, if such hotline is available. The
provisions of the act shall take effect on July 1, 2025.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 770 Brattin

Establishes provisions regarding elementary and secondary education

Only the sections related to people with disabilities are summarized.

This act establishes the "Sunlight in Learning Act", which requires certain training, instructional, and curricular
materials posted on a school website. This act requires the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
to ensure schools and charter schools publicly display instructional and training materials for teachers and
learning materials and activities used for students on the school website. The website shall include the title,
author, organization and any website associated with the material or activity. The website shall also include the
identity of the teacher or other person who created the learning material. Any activity that involves service-
learning, internships or outside organizations, shall be included on the website, as outlined in the act. All
procedures for the documentation, review or approval of materials used for staff or faculty training or student

10


https://www.senate.mo.gov/24info/BTS_Web/Bill.aspx?SessionType=R&BillID=154
https://www.senate.mo.gov/Senators/Member/04
https://www.senate.mo.gov/24info/BTS_Web/Bill.aspx?SessionType=R&BillID=155
https://www.senate.mo.gov/Senators/Member/04
https://www.senate.mo.gov/24info/BTS_Web/Bill.aspx?SessionType=R&BillID=400
https://www.senate.mo.gov/Senators/Member/31

102nd General Assembly 2024 Issue 1, January 5, 2024

learning shall be included on the website. A listing of available resources in the library shall be included on the
website. The information required on the website shall be displayed online prior to the first instance of training
or instruction, or, at the latest, fourteen days after the training or instruction. The information shall be organized
by school, grade, teacher, and subject, and be displayed on the website for at least two years. Schools may use a
collaborative online document or spreadsheet software to update the listing on the website. The listing shall be
created and displayed in searchable or sortable electronic formats. A school with fewer that twenty enrolled
students and whose materials and activities are selected independently by instructors is not required to post a
list of learning materials and activities on a website. The Attorney General, Commissioner of Education, State
Auditor, prosecuting attorney, or resident of a school district, may initiate a suit against the school district,
public school, or public charter school or other governmental entity responsible for educational oversight if a
violation of this act occurs. Courts shall not entertain complaints unless complainants have first worked to
remedy the situation by contacting school officials, who have fifteen days to resolve the situation, or by
contacting the school board, who have forty-five days to resolve the situation. No school officials shall purchase
or contract copyrighted learning materials, including renewal of subscription-based materials where students
are provided login credentials or access via electronic personal devices, unless provisions are made to allow
parents and guardians of students to review the materials within thirty days of the submission of a written
request to the school. This act creates the "Parents' Bill of Rights Act of 2023." Under this act, no school district
shall deny to the parent or guardian of a minor child certain rights. Such rights includes the ability to fully review
the curricula, books, and other educational materials used by the school attended by their child; the ability to
access information on teachers, guest lecturers, and outside presenters who engage with students at the school;
the ability to access information on third party individuals and organizations that receive contracts; the right to
visit their child at school during school hours; the right to access all records generated by the school that
concern their child; the ability to access information pertaining to the collection and transmission of data
regarding their child; the right to be heard at school board meetings; the right to be notified of situations
affecting the safety of their child at school; and the right to object to certain materials that the parent finds
inappropriate to be taught to their child. Any person denied one of these rights may bring a civil action for
injunctive relief. Further, the attorney general may also bring a civil action for injunctive relief. If a school district
is found to have violated this act, the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education may withhold up to
fifty percent of the state aid for such district.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 773 Gannon
Creates provisions relating to automated external defibrillators in schools

For the 2025-26 school year and all subsequent school years, this act requires every public school to install an
automated external defibrillator (AED) in each school building and designate appropriate school personnel to be
trained annually in the use of such AED. Such personnel shall have received training in the use of AEDs before
the beginning of the 2025-26 school year. The act outlines certain requirements for AEDs in schools, including
approval by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration and restrictions relating to the modification of AEDs. The act
also establishes certain requirements relating to the maintenance, repair, and inspection of all components of
each AED. The availability and placement of each AED shall be overseen by school personnel in accordance with
certain guidelines set forth in the act. An AED shall be placed in a location that allows it to be easily seen and
retrieved by school personnel outside of normal school hours. AEDs shall be placed in areas where there is likely
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to be high traffic or congregation, such as auditoriums, cafeterias, or gymnasiums. The specific placement of an
AED shall be determined after consultation with the local emergency medical services system or emergency
medical response agency. Each school district shall appoint a program coordinator who shall be responsible for
administering the AED program for his or her school. The coordinator shall oversee training of school personnel
in performing CPR and operating AEDs. The coordinator shall also oversee maintenance of AED equipment and
maintain certain organizational reports relating to the training and use of AEDs. Training in the use of an AED
and the performance of CPR shall be based on the most current guidelines of the American Heart Association or
the American Red Cross. Coordination with emergency medical services and ongoing quality improvement shall
also be components of such training. Such training shall count toward the professional development
requirements for teachers under current state law. Before April 30th of each school year, each public school
shall report to the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education on the implementation and availability
of AEDs in each building of the school. The Department shall compile this data and submit a report to the
General Assembly before the end of each school year.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 780 Eslinger
Modifies provisions relating to student enrollment in the Missouri Course Access and Virtual School Program

Under this act, the average daily attendance of a student who is enrolled full-time in the Missouri Course Access
and Virtual School Program shall be calculated as if such attendance equaled the host district's or charter
school's average attendance percentage for the previous year. Host districts that enroll one or more full-time
virtual school students shall receive an amount of state aid specified in the act for such students on a monthly
basis. The act provides that students who reside in Missouri may enroll in the virtual program of their choice.
Provisions of current law regarding a school district's approval of a student's request to enroll in a virtual
program shall not apply to full-time virtual program enrollment. The act requires host districts to adopt student
enrollment policies for full-time virtual students and allows virtual schools to mutually agree with resident and
host districts on the services that the resident district might offer, including possible financial reimbursements
for those services. For students with disabilities, the enrollment policy shall ensure the development of an
individualized education program and related services agreement, as necessary. The act also specifies that
student progress reports are necessary only for part-time virtual school program enrollees. The act requires a
student's parent or guardian, if the student is not considered homeless, to apply for enroliment directly with the
full-time virtual program. Finally, the act provides that a host district may contract with a provider to perform
any required services involved with delivering a full-time virtual education.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 812 Coleman
Establishes provisions relating to special education programs

This act requires public schools that serve students with an individualized education program (IEP) to obtain
written parental consent for placements, removals, additions, changes, or reductions of services in the IEPs of
such students. The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education shall adopt a parental consent form for
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use by local educational agencies. The act outlines the information to be included on the form, including a
statement that the parent has the right to consent or refuse to consent to the actions described in the act.
Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 921 Koenig
Modifies provisions relating to student enrollment in the Missouri Course Access and Virtual School Program

Under this act, the average daily attendance of a student who is enrolled full-time in the Missouri Course Access
and Virtual School Program shall be calculated as if such attendance equaled the host district's or charter
school's average attendance percentage for the previous year. Host districts that enroll one or more full-time
virtual school students shall receive an amount of state aid specified in the act for such students on a monthly
basis. The act provides that students who reside in Missouri may enroll in the virtual program of their choice.
Provisions of current law regarding a school district's approval of a student's request to enroll in a virtual
program shall not apply to full-time virtual program enrollment. The act requires host districts to adopt student
enrollment policies for full-time virtual students and allows virtual schools to mutually agree with resident and
host districts on the services that the resident district might offer, including possible financial reimbursements
for those services. For students with disabilities, the enroliment policy shall ensure the development of an
individualized education program and related services agreement, as necessary. The act also specifies that
student progress reports are necessary only for part-time virtual school program enrollees. The act requires a
student's parent or guardian, if the student is not considered homeless, to apply for enroliment directly with the
full-time virtual program. Finally, the act provides that a host district may contract with a provider to perform
any required services involved with delivering a full-time virtual education.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 1032 Eslinger
Requires public schools to develop cardiac emergency response plans

For the 2025-26 school year and all subsequent school years, this act requires every public school to develop and
implement a cardiac emergency response plan that addresses the appropriate use of school personnel to
respond to incidents involving an individual experiencing sudden cardiac arrest or a similar life-threatening
emergency while on a school campus. A public school with an athletic department or organized athletic program
shall also develop and implement a plan specific to life-threatening emergencies that may occur at an
extracurricular event or school-sponsored event on campus. Members of each public school's administration
shall coordinate with local emergency services providers to integrate the public school's cardiac emergency
response plan into the local emergency services providers' protocols. A cardiac emergency response plan shall
integrate evidence-based core elements, such as those recommended by the American Heart Association
guidelines, Project ADAM, or another set of nationally recognized, evidence-based standard or core elements.
The act outlines certain guidelines that a cardiac emergency response plan shall integrate, including the
establishment of a cardiac emergency response team and the placement of automated external defibrillators
(AEDs) throughout the school campus. Appropriate AED placement shall be dictated by the cardiac emergency

response plan and in accordance with guidelines set by the American Heart Association, Project ADAM, or
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another set of nationally recognized, evidence-based standard or core elements. Appropriate school personnel
shall be trained in first aid, CPR, and AED use following evidence-based guidelines set forth by the American
Heart Association, American Red Cross, Project ADAM, or another set of nationally recognized, evidence-based
standard or core elements. The school personnel required to be trained shall be determined by the cardiac
emergency response plan and shall include, but not be limited to, athletics coaches, school nurses, and athletic
trainers.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 1051 Trent
Allows the enrollment of nonresident students in public school districts

Only the sections related to people with disabilities are summarized.

The act establishes the "Public School Open Enrollment Act" to enable students to transfer from their district of
residence ("resident district") to a nonresident district. The Act shall become effective on July 1, 2025. On or
before October 1st of each year, each school district and charter school shall indicate whether it will participate
in the open enrollment program during the subsequent school year. Participating districts and schools may
accept transferring nonresident students from any other school district. For the 2025-26 and 2026-27 school
years, a district may restrict the number of students who may transfer away from the school district to a
maximum of 5% of the district's enrollment for the prior year. The act shall not be construed to require any
school to add teachers, staff, or classrooms. The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education shall
develop a model policy for districts and charter schools to determine such standards and the number of
transfers they may accept. The model policy shall be adopted by all districts and charter schools, whether or not
they participate in the program, and may be modified to meet each district's or charter school's particular
needs. The model policy shall require each district or charter school to define "insufficient classroom space" and
may provide additional standards for evaluating transfer applications. Nonresident districts shall accept credits
toward graduation from other districts and shall award a diploma to any transferring student who meets the
nonresident district's graduation requirements. A student may be denied transfer if, in the most recent school
year, he or she has been suspended from school two or more times, was suspended for an act of school
violence, or expelled for acts that school administrators are required to report to law enforcement under
current law. Such student may alternatively be permitted to transfer on a provisional, probationary basis subject
to no further disruptive behavior based on standards that shall be developed by the nonresident district.
Students denied transfer shall have the right to an in-person meeting with the nonresident district's
superintendent. Students may transfer into only one nonresident district per school year. Transferring students
shall commit to attending and taking all courses through the nonresident district for at least one school year,
and at least one such course shall be in-seat. Students who transfer back to their resident districts shall reapply
in order to transfer back into a nonresident district and shall first remain in the resident district for at least one
full semester. Siblings of transferring students may also enroll in the same nonresident district to which their
sibling transfers, subject to limitations based on school capacity and the student's disciplinary record. Except for
students who qualify for reimbursement of transportation costs as described in the act and for agreements

allowing such students to be picked up at an existing bus stop, transferring students or their parents shall be
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responsible for transportation to and from nonresident districts. By agreement with the nonresident district,
parents of transferring students may waive requirements for such district to provide transportation required
under the student's individualized education program. Nonresident districts shall receive reimbursement for the
costs of certain special educational services for transferring students. Such reimbursement shall not exceed the
district's current expenditure per average daily attendance. The reimbursement shall come from the Parent
Public School Choice Fund established in the act. The Fund shall consist of an appropriation of $60 million and
any subsequent appropriations. The Department shall annually evaluate the availability and use of moneys from
the fund. If additional moneys are needed to fulfill the purposes of the act, the Department shall request such
moneys by a specific line item appropriation. By October 1st annually, each school district and charter school
shall set the number of transferring students such district or charter school is willing to accept for the following
school year. The district or charter school may set criteria, including limits on the number of students to be
accepted to particular buildings, grades, classrooms, or programs. Districts and charter schools shall publish and
notify the Department of such information. Each district and charter school shall develop a procedure for
creating a waiting list for all transfer applications when applications exceed the district's or charter school's
maximum. In accepting students from the waiting list, nonresident districts shall give additional priority to
students in the following order: siblings of transfer students, children of active duty military personnel, children
of district or charter school employees, students who previously attended school in the district or charter school
as resident students, and students whose parents' employment circumstances would cause transfer to be in the
student's best interest. Nonresident districts may also include other priority factors. Parents of applicants shall
be informed of how the waiting list shall operate and may be required to reapply to remain on the waiting list. A
student's transfer application shall be submitted to the nonresident and resident districts on a form approved by
the Department before December 1st in the year prior to the school year in which the student seeks to transfer.
Nonresident districts shall mark the date and time of receipt on each such application. Applications shall be
reviewed and decided upon by the superintendent. Reasons for any rejection shall be submitted to the school
board or charter school governing body for review. Rejection decisions may be finalized only by a majority vote
of the board or governing body. School boards and governing bodies of charter schools may adopt a policy
granting the superintendent authority to approve transfer applications submitted after the December 1st
deadline if conditions described in the act are met, including a finding of good cause. The act provides additional
procedures related to the timing of late applications. Resident districts may appeal the decisions of nonresident
districts for suspected violations of the late application provisions of the act. The Commissioner of Education or
a three member panel selected by the Missouri Charter Public School Commission shall mediate such disputes
and shall conduct a hearing if the mediation is unsuccessful. A decision shall be issued within 10 days of such
hearing and may be appealed within 5 days. The superintendents of nonresident districts shall notify the parents
of transfer applicants by February 1st whether the application has been accepted or rejected. Such notice shall
include, if the application is rejected, the reason for a rejection, or, if the application is accepted, an enrollment
deadline and instructions for renewing the transfer enrollment. Transfer applicants who are rejected may file an
appeal with the Department or a three member panel selected by the Missouri Charter Public School
Commission. The appeal shall be sent in writing within 10 business days after the student or the student's parent

receives notice of rejection. A copy shall also be sent to the superintendent of the nonresident district where the
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applicant seeks to transfer. The appeal shall state the basis for appeal, shall include a copy of the notice of
rejection, and may include documentation to show that transfer would be in the student's best interest. The
nonresident district may submit additional documentation or arguments supporting the rejection decision to the
Department or the three member panel, and shall submit copies of any such response to the student or
student's parent, no later than 10 days after receiving a copy of the appeal. The Department or the three
member panel shall notify the parent, nonresident district, and resident district of the basis for the
Department's or panel's decision if it overturns the rejection.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 1081 Arthur
Requires public schools to develop cardiac emergency response plans

For the 2025-26 school year and all subsequent school years, this act requires every public school to develop and
implement a cardiac emergency response plan that addresses the appropriate use of school personnel to
respond to incidents involving an individual experiencing sudden cardiac arrest or a similar life-threatening
emergency while on a school campus. A public school with an athletic department or organized athletic program
shall also develop and implement a plan specific to life-threatening emergencies that may occur at an
extracurricular event or school-sponsored event on campus. Members of each public school's administration
shall coordinate with local emergency services providers to integrate the public school's cardiac emergency
response plan into the local emergency services providers' protocols. A cardiac emergency response plan shall
integrate evidence-based core elements, such as those recommended by the American Heart Association
guidelines, Project ADAM, or another set of nationally recognized, evidence-based standard or core elements.
The act outlines certain guidelines that a cardiac emergency response plan shall integrate, including the
establishment of a cardiac emergency response team and the placement of automated external defibrillators
(AEDs) throughout the school campus. Appropriate AED placement shall be dictated by the cardiac emergency
response plan and in accordance with guidelines set by the American Heart Association, Project ADAM, or
another set of nationally recognized, evidence-based standard or core elements. Appropriate school personnel
shall be trained in first aid, CPR, and AED use following evidence-based guidelines set forth by the American
Heart Association, American Red Cross, Project ADAM, or another set of nationally recognized, evidence-based
standard or core elements. The school personnel required to be trained shall be determined by the cardiac
emergency response plan and shall include, but not be limited to, athletics coaches, school nurses, and athletic
trainers.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 1082 Arthur
Allows students to attend multiple public summer school programs non-concurrently

Under current law, no pupil shall attend summer school classes in more than one school district during any one
summer. This act modifies such restriction to apply only when attendance occurs in more than one school
district concurrently.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)
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SB 1203 Coleman
Establishes provisions relating to transparency of school staff training, instructional, and curricular materials

Under this act, school districts and charter schools shall ensure that certain information relating to staff training
and instructional and curricular materials on topics including nondiscrimination, diversity, equity, inclusion, and
bias shall be publicly posted on each school website in a manner set forth in the act. The Attorney General or the
prosecuting or circuit attorney in the county in which a violation of the act occurs may bring a cause of action
against any school district or charter school that violates a provision of the act. An attorney acting on behalf of a
school district or charter school may request an opinion of the Attorney General as to whether a particular piece
of training, instructional, or curricular material complies with the provisions of the act.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

EMPLOYMENT
HB 1793 Johnson

Creates provisions relating to mental health leave for employees

This bill allows employees to take unpaid leave for mental health appointments. As much as is practical, the
employee will give the employer at least 48 hours notice that the employee will be using the leave. An employer
is allowed to ask for proof that the leave is for a mental health appointment. Proof will include a sworn
statement by the employee and documentation from the treating health care provider.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

SB 945 May

Creates new provisions relating to leave from employment

This act creates the Missouri Family and Medical Leave Program. Under this act, employers with 12 or more
employees are required to compensate an employee who has worked at least 1,250 hours in the previous 365-
day period with up to sixteen weeks of paid leave if the employee is unable to work because of one the

following reasons:
- Because of his or her own serious health condition;
- For the purpose of caring for a family member with a serious health condition;

- To bond with a child within one year of the birth or placement of the child in connection with foster care or

adoption; or

- For the purpose of participating in activities directly related to the educational advancement of the employee's
child.

Leave must be taken concurrent with any leave taken under the federal Family Medical Leave Act. Leave taken
under this act may be in addition to any additional leave provided by an employer's leave program. Eligibility for
leave under this act shall be established by filing a certificate of a health care provider that establishes the
serious health condition of the employee or the employee's family member. Employers are required to pay
employees who take leave under this act at a rate of 65% of the hourly rate at which such employee is paid in
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the normal course of employment, or $300 per week, whichever is greater. Employers are required to maintain
health care coverage for the employee in the same manner as if the employee had not taken leave. Employers
who fail to comply with the leave requirements of this act shall be liable to affected employees for the full
amount of wages owed plus an additional equal amount as liquidated damages. All actions brought under this
act shall be commenced within two years of the accrual of the cause of action. The Department of Labor and
Industrial Relations is required to conduct an outreach program to ensure that individuals who may be eligible
for leave under this act are aware of the provisions of this act. Employers are required to keep a notice posted in
a conspicuous place summarizing the requirements of this act.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 1069 McCreery

Creates the Missouri Earned Family and Medical Leave Act

This act creates the Missouri Earned Family and Medical Leave Act.
GENERALLY

Under this act, all employees who are not independent contractors are eligible to receive up to six weeks each

year of wage replacement benefits for any of the following reasons:

- To bond with a minor child within the first year of birth or placement in connection with foster care or

adoption;
- To care for a family member with a serious health condition;
- To tend to one's own serious health condition; or

- To assume any familial responsibility because a spouse, child, or parent of an employee is on, or has been

notified of an impending call to, active duty in the armed forces.

The Department of Labor and Industrial Relations is responsible for administering the program. An employee is
eligible for benefits equal to 100% of his or her average weekly pay for each full week taken for family or
medical leave. However, an employee's average weekly wage may not be higher than the average state weekly
wage. An employee may take partial weeks of leave but will only receive benefits equal to the fraction of the
number of days of leave taken divided by the number of the days that the employee would have otherwise

worked. An employee may additionally only take leave in full day increments.
APPLYING FOR BENEFITS

An employee has 41 days following the first day on which he or she begins to take family or medical leave to file
a claim for benefits with the Department. Furthermore, an employee may not receive benefits until they have
contributed to the Missouri Earned Family and Medical Leave Fund for at least 52 weeks. An employee may not
receive benefits on any day for which they are eligible to receive unemployment or workers' compensation
benefits. Leave taken under this act must be taken concurrently with leave taken under the federal Family

Medical Leave Act. Each employee applying for benefits shall show, on a certificate provided by the Department,
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that he or she is entitled to family or medical leave. An employee seeking to take leave under this act shall
provide at least 30 days notice to their employer if the reason for leave is foreseeable. If it is not practicable,

notice shall be given as soon
APPEALING DETERMINATION OF ELIGIBILITY

Employees are entitled to appeal a determination of eligibility by the Department to the Administrative Hearing
Commission. A notice of appeal shall be sent to the Commission within 30 days of the receipt of the
determination by the employee. A decision by the Commission may be appealed to a court of competent
jurisdiction. An employee is not entitled to appeal a determination of the amount of benefits received but may

request a redetermination by the Department within one year of the initial determination.
UNLAWFUL DISCRIMINATORY ACTIONS

It is unlawful for an employer to discriminate against an employee because he or she filed a claim for, indicated
an intent to file a claim for, or has received Missouri earned family and medical leave benefits. Courts hearing
such complaints may grant injunctive, equitable, or compensatory relief to employees. Complaints may be filed
by either the employee or the Department. In the event that the Department files a complaint, the employee is
thereafter barred from bringing his or her own action. In any event, a discrimination claim shall be brought

within three years.
OUTREACH AND REPORTS

The Department is required to develop and implement an outreach program to make employees aware of their
rights, duties, and responsibilities under this act. The State Auditor is required to complete an audit of the

program by January 1, 2031.
MISSOURI EARNED FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE FUND

The Missouri Earned Family and Medical Leave Fund is created. An employee is required to contribute .025% of
his or her average weekly pay to the fund, provided that the total wages used to compute the contribution rate
shall not exceed the contribution and benefit base used to calculate Social Security taxes. If, at the discretion of
the Director of the Department of Labor and Industrial Relations, there is not a sufficient amount of funds in the
fund to satisfy all claims, the director is permitted to reduce the benefit amount each employee will receive.

Contributions to the program may begin January 1, 2026, but no employee may receive benefits until January 1,

2028. All employee contributions are pre-tax and not considered part of the adjusted gross income.
REFERENDUM CLAUSE
The act contains a referendum clause to be presented to the voters at the 2024 general election.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 1126 McCreery
Increases the minimum wage rate to $15 per hour by 2026
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This act raises the minimum wage rate to $13.75/hour beginning January 1, 2025, and to $15.00/hour beginning
January 1, 2026.
Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

FUNDING/TAX RELIEF
HB 1418 Sauls
Exempts the retail sale of food from state and local sales and use tax

This bill exempts the retail sale of food from state and local sales and use taxes beginning January 1, 2025.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1428 McGirl

Modifies the "circuit breaker" tax credit by increasing the maximum upper limit and property tax credit amounts

This bill increases the maximum upper limit of the “circuit breaker” tax credit for homesteads owned and
occupied for the year by those claiming the credit to $40,000 beginning January 1, 2025. The amounts will be
adjusted annually based on the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers for the United States.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1436 Gallick

Modifies provisions governing the use of county developmental disability resource board tax levies

This bill requires funds collected to be used for establishing and maintaining a county or city sheltered
workshop, residence, facility, or related services will be deposited in a special fund. Money in the fund will be
used to fund operation and maintenance of sheltered workshops which are compliant with the requirements of
board funding requests. The bill states that no board of directors shall require additional certifications or
requirements for a compliant, credentialed applicant for the operation of a sheltered workshop. Use of the
funds for other purposes such as residence, facility, related services or a combination is allowed as long as
money from the fund is also used for the sheltered workshop.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1444 Smith, Travis

Authorizes a tax credit for donations made to certain organizations

This bill authorizes a tax credit for contributions made to substance abuse recovery or justice-involved support
recovery service organizations that meet criteria specified in the bill. The tax credit will be 50% of the
contribution amount. The tax credits will be subject to appropriation and can begin with the 2025 tax year.
Status: 1/4/24 Referred Corrections and Public Institutions committee (H)

Committee: Corrections and Public Institutions

HB 1464 Sander

Creates a sales tax exemption for food
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This bill exempts any retail food from sales and use tax.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1615 Hudson

Changes the definition of "qualified student" for purposes of Missouri empowerment scholarship accounts

This bill removes the city and county stipulations within the qualified student definition of the MO
empowerment scholarship accounts.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1636 Terry

Modifies provisions related to the "circuit breaker" property tax credit, reenacts the Missouri Homestead

Preservation Tax Credit Program, and implements a homestead exemption for certain individuals

This bill increases the amount of rent which constitutes property taxes paid to $1,055 and the amount of actual
property taxes paid to $1,550 when determining the property tax credit for tax years beginning January 1, 2025.
The amounts will be adjusted annually based on the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers for the
United States. The bill also increases the maximum upper limit to $38,200 or $42,200 for an individual
depending on the situation. The exemptions for spouses is also changed. The amounts will be adjusted annually
based on the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers for the United States. The table used to calculate
the amount of property tax credit to be received is updated. A homestead exemption is created for individuals
who are considered eligible owners. The Homestead Preservation Tax Credit Program is reenacted.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1670 Matthiesen

Modifies the "circuit breaker" tax credit by increasing the maximum upper limit and property tax credit amounts

This bill increases the amount of rent which constitutes property taxes paid to $1,055 and the amount of actual
property taxes paid to $1,550 when determining the property tax credit for tax years beginning January 1, 2025.
The amounts will be adjusted annually based on the Midwest Region Consumer Price Index. The bill also
increases the maximum upper limit to $38,200 or $42,200 for an individual depending on the situation. The
amounts will be adjusted annually based on the e Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers for the
Midwest Region. There are also specified amount exemptions. The table used to calculate the amount of
property tax credit to be received is updated.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1671 Matthiesen

Changes the definition of "qualified student" for the Missouri Empowerment Scholarship Accounts Program

This bill removes the requirements of attending a public school full-time for at least a semester during the
previous 12 months and being a child eligible to begin kindergarten or first grade from the definition of qualified

student.
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Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1738 Richey

Changes provisions governing educational scholarships

This bill increases the maximum amounts for educational scholarships tax credits and adds that in addition to
what is already in statute it can be adjusted annually by any percentage increase in the appropriation amount
for student transportation as specified in the bill. It establishes total grant amounts for how much educational
assistance organizations can give in scholarships to each category of qualified individuals. For qualified students
who have an IEP not more than 175% of the state adequacy target is the total grant amount limit. The bill
updates other amounts. Background checks would not be required for parents who have their children in a
home school. The treasurer is given the authority to certify an additional educational assistance organization if
total contributions exceed a specified amount. Lastly, the bill removes the city and county requirement within
the qualified student definition.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1856 Busick
Authorizes counties and other political subdivisions to grant real property tax credits to eligible taxpayers with

homesteads

This bill authorizes counties and other political subdivisions to adopt an order or ordinance granting real
property tax credits to individuals who own their home and are eligible for Social Security retirement benefits.
Counties only need to adopt an order or ordinance. Political subdivisions must receive a petition requesting the
order or ordinance before it can be adopted. The order or ordinance must then be voted on and approved by
voters before taking effect.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1920  Doll

Authorizes a sales tax exemption for the purchase of diapers and feminine hygiene products

This bill states the sales tax rate for the purchase of diapers and incontinence products cannot be more than
that for retail food. Diapers includes items used by individuals who are unable to control bladder and bowel
movements.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1925 Morse
Establishes a grant program for health care professionals working and residing in rural counties

This bill, subject to appropriations, requires the Department of Health and Senior Services to establish a grant
program to incentivize health care professionals to practice and reside in rural areas. Priority for the grants will
be given to health care professionals listed in the bill. The details and requirements for the grant program and

grants are specified.
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Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1939 Plank

Modifies the "Senior Citizen Property Tax Relief Credit" or "circuit breaker" tax credit by increasing the

maximum upper limit amounts

This bill increases the maximum upper limit for the Senior Citizen Property Tax Credit beginning in January 2025.
The maximum upper limit will be $45,500 unless the homestead is owned and occupied for the entire year by
the individual claiming the tax credit. If the homestead is owned and occupied by the claimant, the maximum
upper will be $50,000.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2050 Strickler

Modifies the "Senior Citizen Property Tax Relief Credit" or "circuit breaker" tax credit by increasing the

maximum upper limit and property tax credit amounts

This bill increases the maximum upper limit for the Senior Citizen Property Tax Credit beginning in January 2025.
The maximum upper limit will be $38,200 unless the homestead is owned and occupied for the entire year by
the individual claiming the tax credit. If the homestead is owned and occupied by the claimant, the maximum
upper will be $42,200. The amounts will be adjusted annually based on the Consumer Price Index for All Urban
Consumers for the United States. This bill also increases the amount of rent which constitutes property taxes
paid to $1,055 and the amount of actual property taxes paid to $1,550 when determining the property tax credit
for tax years beginning January 1, 2025. The amounts will be adjusted annually based on the Consumer Price
Index for All Urban Consumers for the United States.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2055 Keathley

Exempts the sale of food from sales tax

This bill states the sales tax rate on the retail sale of food will be reduced incrementally beginning January 1,
2025. Beginning January 1, 2029 the retail sale of food will be exempt from sales tax.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2112 Hausman

Authorizes a sales tax exemption for the purchase of diapers, incontinence products, feminine hygiene products,

and certain vitamins

This bill exempts diapers and incontinence products from sales tax. Diapers includes products for bowel and
bladder incontinence.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2117 Thomas
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Establishes the "Forgivable Grant Program for Families of Adopted Children with Special Needs" within the
division of senior and disability services

This bill establishes the “Forgivable Grant Program for Families of Adopted Children with Special Needs within
the Department of Health and Senior Services Division of Senior and Disability Services. The program will provide
grants families can use to make home improvements or on other projects to address the needs of the children.
Eligibility criteria, repayment timing, and forgiveness criteria are specified.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2118 Thomas

Establishes provisions relating to reimbursing the monetary value of unused units of respite care or unused child

care maintenance or subsidy days

This bill establishes procedures for resource parents or adoptive parents who have unused respite care units,
unused child care maintenance or unused subsidy days due to a child’s special needs to be reimbursed the
monetary value of those. The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education will develop the necessary
forms, rules, and regulations.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2119 Thomas

Establishes provisions relating to adoption subsidies for youth with elevated needs

This bill states that youth with elevated needs level B and in an adoptive or legal guardianship placement will
have a subsidy payment that is the same amount as the maintenance payments given to a same level youth with
an adoption subsidy agreement. Details of eligibility and continuation are in the bill. An 18+ adoption subsidy is
allowed to be approved if a child has documented extraordinary physical, dental, or mental health needs that
require care beyond age 18. When the child turns 18 the adoption subsidy will be negotiated with the parent.
The intent is to transition the child from adoption subsidy to adult community services. The processes for
requesting the subsidy and transitioning are outlined. An adoption subsidy will be approved for an adopted
individual with a permanent disability who is age 21 or older if the adoptive parent(s) have been appointed legal
guardians. The process for obtaining an extended subsidy is explained. The subsidy rate is the same as what may
be received under the 18+ subsidy and cost- of-living adjustments. Additional adjustments are also explained.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2120 Thomas

Establishes a pilot program administered by the department of health and senior services to provide funds to

families who care for individuals with nursing care needs

This bill creates a pilot program within the Department of Health and Senior Services, subject to appropriations,
to provide funds to families of adopted individuals or individuals considered wards with private duty nursing
care needs. The eligibility criteria that must be met by the parent or guardian is outlined in the bill. Lump sum

payments will be provided to all approved participants. The lump sum payments are to be used to benefit the
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ward or adopted individual. Examples of approved uses for the money are listed. Specifics are included if the
money is used for private duty nursing services. The pilot program will end after three years and findings
regarding program efficacy will be given to the governor and general assembly.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2174 Schnelting

Exempts the retail sale of food from state sales and use tax

This bill exempts the retail sale of food from state sales and use tax beginning January 1, 2025.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2187 Lewis, Patty

Modifies provisions of the diaper bank tax credit and authorizes a sales tax exemption for the purchase of

diapers, feminine hygiene products, & incontinence products

This bill specifies criteria for the diaper bank tax credit. It also exempts diapers, incontinence products, and
feminine hygiene products from state sales tax.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2224 Phifer
Changes the laws regarding the taxation of feminine hygiene products and diapers

This bill states that the sales tax on diapers will be the same rate as the rate as the one for the retail sale of food
beginning October 1, 2024. Diapers includes garments for bowel and bladder incontinence.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2273 Dinkins

Exempts the sale of food from sales tax

This bill requires that the rate of sales tax on retail food based on the local sales tax law be reduced annually in
four equal increments over four years beginning January 1, 2025. The retail sale of food will be exempt from
these taxes beginning January 1, 2029.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HIR 78 Coleman

Proposes a constitutional amendment relating to real property tax assessments

This joint resolution proposes a constitutional amendment for real property tax assessments for age-qualified
tax payers who have resided in the primary residence.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HJR 82 Seitz

Proposes an amendment to the Constitution of Missouri relating to a property tax exemption for certain seniors
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This joint resolution proposes an amendment to the MO Constitution stating individuals who are 65 years old
and have taxable income less than $45,000 will not be liable for any property tax.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HJR 85 Terry

Reduces property tax assessments on senior citizens and disabled persons by fifty percent

This joint resolution requires the property tax assessments for property owned by individuals who have a
permanent disability under state or federal law to be reduced by 50% beginning January 1, 2022. This would be
done through a constitutional amendment voted on by Missourians.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HJR 95 Gray

Proposes a constitutional amendment granting property tax exemptions to certain disabled veterans

This joint resolution proposes a constitutional amendment which would grant property tax exemptions to
veterans with at least a 50% disability rating. The amount exempt is specified in the bill. This would begin
January 1, 2025.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

SB 727 Koenig
Modifies provisions of the Missouri Empowerment Scholarship Accounts Program

The act provides that all tax credits authorized under the program shall be refundable. The act changes the
maximum amount of tax credits that may be allocated in any year from $50 million to $75 million. Such
maximum amount shall be increased annually by any percentage increase in the amount appropriated for
student transportation over 90% of the projected amount necessary to fully fund transportation aid funding
under current law. The act repeals a provision that the program shall be effective in any fiscal year immediately
following any year in which the amount appropriated for pupil transportation equals or exceeds 40% of the
projected amount necessary to fully fund transportation aid funding for fiscal year 2021. The act modifies the
total grant amount for students with an individualized education plan (IEP) or limited English proficiency or who
receive free or reduced-price lunch. Students with limited English proficiency shall receive no more than 160% of
the state adequacy target; students who receive free or reduced-price lunch shall receive no more than 125% of
the state adequacy target; and students with an IEP shall receive no more than 175% of the state adequacy
target. All other students shall receive a grant amount that does not exceed the state adequacy target. Under
the act, no parent of a student who attends a home school shall be required to undergo a background check in
order to participate in the program. The act repeals a provision that the annual increase to the cumulative
amount of tax credits shall cease when the amount of tax credits reaches $50 million. If the total contributions
to educational assistance organizations exceed $25 million in any school year, the State Treasurer may certify
one additional educational assistance organization to administer scholarship accounts. A maximum of seven,
rather than six, educational assistance organizations may have their principal place of business in any one of the
counties listed in the act. Finally, the act modifies the definition of "qualified student" by including any student
who is a resident of this state, rather than only those students who live in a charter county or a city with at least
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30,000 inhabitants. Such definition is further modified by including any student who is a member of a household
whose total annual income is 400% or less than the income standard used to qualify for free and reduced-price
lunch, rather than only those students whose household income is 200% or less than such standard.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 729 Koenig

Authorizes a tax credit for certain educational expenses

For all tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2025, this act authorizes a taxpayer to claim a tax credit in an
amount equal to one hundred percent of qualified expenses incurred during the tax year for educating a
qualified student, as such terms are defined in the act, provided that no tax credit shall exceed the state
adequacy target. Tax credits authorized by the act shall not be transferred, sold, or assigned, but are refundable.
To be eligible for a tax credit, a taxpayer shall not have enrolled a qualified student in the taxpayer's resident
school district during the tax year for which the taxpayer is claiming a tax credit. Tax credits authorized by the
act shall be claimed by the taxpayer at the time such taxpayer files a return. The taxpayer shall submit to the
Department of Revenue certification obtained after November 15th from the Department of Elementary and
Secondary Education that the taxpayer did not enroll a qualified student in the taxpayer's resident school district
during the tax year for which the taxpayer is claiming a tax credit. The amount of revenue distributed to a school
district from the School District Trust Fund shall be reduced by an amount equal to the aggregate amount of tax
credits claimed pursuant to this act by taxpayers residing in the school district.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 756 Luetkemeyer

Modifies a property tax credit for certain seniors

Current law authorizes a property tax credit for certain seniors who are eligible for Social Security retirement
benefits. This act modifies the definition of "eligible credit amount”. This act also modifies the definition of
"eligible taxpayer" by providing that a taxpayer shall be 62 years of age or older, rather than eligible for Social
Security retirement benefits, and that the taxpayer shall not owe delinquent taxes, interest, or penalties to the
county.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 794 Washington
Authorizes a tax credit for providing services to homeless persons

For all tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2025, this act allows eligible taxpayers to receive a tax credit for
providing certain services to homeless persons. An eligible taxpayer is defined as a qualified provider of
employment services to homeless persons, a qualified provider of employment to homeless persons, or a
qualified provider of housing to homeless persons. The amount of the tax credit shall not exceed $10,000 per tax
year, and the total amount of tax credits authorized under the act per fiscal year shall not exceed $1 million. The
Department of Economic Development shall publish guidelines for determining who is a qualified provider of
employment services, employment, or housing to homeless persons, as described in the act. This act shall sunset
on December 31, 2030, unless reauthorized by the General Assembly.
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Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 822 McCreery
Modifies the Senior Citizen Property Tax Relief Credit

Current law authorizes an income tax credit for certain senior citizens and disabled veterans in amount equal to
a portion of such taxpayer's property tax liabilities, with the amount of the credit dependent on the taxpayer's
income and property tax liability. This act modifies the definition of "income" to increase the amount deducted
from Missouri adjusted gross income from $2,000 to $2,800, or, for claimants who owned and occupied the
residence for the entire year, such amount is increased from $4,000 to $5,800. The maximum allowable credit
under current law is limited to $750 in rent constituting property taxes actually paid or $1,100 in actual property
tax paid. This act increases such amounts to $1,055 and $1,550, respectively, and annually adjusts such
maximum amounts for inflation. Additionally, current law limits the tax credit to qualifying taxpayers with an
income of $27,500 or less, or $30,000 in the case of a homestead owned and occupied by a claimant for the
entire year. This act increases such maximum income to $38,200 for claimants with a filing status of single,
$42,200 for claimants with a filing status of single and who owned and occupied a homestead for the entire
year, $41,000 for claimants with a filing status of married filing combined, and $48,000 for claimants with a filing
status of married filing combined and who owned and occupied a homestead for the entire year, and annually
adjusts such amounts for inflation.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 842 Arthur

Authorizes a sales tax exemption for the purchase of diapers

This bill authorizes a state sales tax exemption for the purchase of diapers which includes products for bowel
and bladder incontinence.
Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 858 May
Authorizes a sales tax exemption for certain hygiene products

This act authorizes a sales tax exemption for all sales of diapers, incontinence products, and feminine hygiene
products, as defined in the act.
Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 880 Razer
Modifies a property tax credit for certain seniors

Current law authorizes a property tax credit for certain seniors who are eligible for Social Security retirement
benefits. This act modifies the definition of "eligible taxpayer" by providing that a taxpayer shall be 62 years of
age or older, rather than eligible for Social Security retirement benefits.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)
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SB 915 McCreery
Authorizes certain senior citizens to defer property taxes

This act enables senior citizens, fifty-nine and a half years of age or older, and disabled persons to defer paying
property taxes on their residences. The act establishes eligibility criteria for the taxpayer and the property for
participating in the deferral. Taxpayers desiring deferral of property taxes shall file an application with the
county assessor, who shall forward such application to the Department of Revenue for a determination of
eligibility. If the application is approved, the Department of Revenue shall notify the county assessor who shall
make a notation on the tax rolls identifying the property as tax-deferred. Each year, the Department of Revenue
shall allocate funds from the Property Tax Deferral Revolving Account, which is created by the act, to each
county with properties subject to tax deferral in an amount equal to the taxes deferred within each such county.
All deferrals of tax shall result in a lien to be held by the Department of Revenue against the property of the
taxpayer, which shall be recorded in the mortgage records of the county in which the property is located. The
lien shall be for the amount of the property tax as estimated by the Department of Revenue plus interest to
accrue at six percent per annum. The taxes plus interest shall be paid when the owner dies or sells the property,
moves, or the property changes ownership.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 930 Cierpiot
Modifies the Senior Citizens Property Tax Relief Credit

Current law authorizes an income tax credit for certain senior citizens and disabled veterans in amount equal to
a portion of such taxpayer's property tax liabilities, not to exceed $750 in rent constituting property taxes
actually paid or $1,100 in actual property tax paid. This act annually adjusts such maximum amounts for
inflation. Additionally, current law limits the tax credit to qualifying taxpayers with an income of $27,500 or less,
or $30,000 in the case of a homestead owned and occupied by a claimant for the entire year. This act increases
such maximum income to $35,000, or $38,000 in the case of a homestead owned and occupied by a claimant for
the entire year, and annually adjusts both amounts for inflation.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 965 Roberts

Authorizes a sales tax for special educational services

This act authorizes the board of education of a metropolitan school district to impose a sales tax for the purpose
of funding special educational services in the district. The tax shall not exceed 0.25%.
Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 966 Roberts

Authorizes a property tax for special educational services
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This act authorizes the board of education of a metropolitan school district to impose a tax on real property
located in the district for the purpose of funding special educational services in the district. The tax shall not
exceed three cents per one hundred dollars assessed valuation.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 1010 Cierpiot

Reauthorizes an income tax deduction for certain savings accounts

Current law authorizes an income tax deduction for one hundred percent of a participating taxpayer's
contributions to a long-term dignity savings account, with such deduction scheduled to sunset on December 31,
2024. This act extends the sunset on the deduction until December 31, 2029.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 1042 Washington
Creates a Text-to-Donate pilot program from homelessness services in certain cities

This act creates a "Text-to-Donate" pilot program in St. Louis and Kansas City to provide services to reduce the
population of homeless persons in those cities. Each city shall create a fund within the city treasury to receive
money for this program. This program will be funded by donations made via text messages. Each city shall
provide the phone number to which donations can be sent via text message. The cities shall be responsible for
administering, promoting, securing donations to, and making distributions from the fund. This act also requires
the General Assembly to make a one-time appropriation sufficient to fund the initial sighage promoting these
funds. The signage shall be displayed in areas with a high population of homeless persons. Any further
expenditures to promote a city's fund shall be paid out of the fund itself.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 1062 Coleman

Exempts the sale of food from sales tax

This act provides that retail sales of food shall be exempt from state sales taxes. This act also provides that,
beginning on January 1, 2025, local sales taxes imposed on food shall annually be reduced in four equal
increments over a period of four years. Beginning January 1, 2029, there shall be no local sales taxes imposed on
food.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB1118 Coleman
Modifies provisions relating to the Missouri Empowerment Scholarship Accounts Program

This act modifies the definition of "qualified student" in the Missouri Empowerment Scholarship Accounts
Program by repealing provisions requiring such student to live in a charter county or a city with at least 30,000
inhabitants and to either have an individualized education plan or be a member of a household whose total
annual income does not exceed 200% of the income standard used to qualify for free and reduced-price lunch.
Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)
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SB 1119 Coleman
Authorizes sales tax exemptions for certain purchases

Only the section related to people with disabilities is summarized.

This act authorizes a sales tax exemption for the purchase of diapers, as defined in the act. This includes
products for bowel and bladder incontinence.
Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 1180 Koenig

Modifies a sales tax exemption for the sale of certain medical devices

Only the section related to people with disabilities is summarized.

Current law provides a sales tax exemption for certain durable medical equipment as defined on January 1, 1980
by the federal Medicare program. This act removes the reference to January 1, 1980. Additionally, current law
provides a sales tax exemption for the sales or rental of manual and powered wheelchairs, including parts. This
act applies the exemption to accessories for such wheelchairs.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 1231 Trent

Authorizes a sales tax exemption for diapers

This act authorizes a sales tax exemption for the purchase of diapers, as defined in the act. This includes
products for bowel and bladder incontinence.
Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SIR 58 Luetkemeyer

Exempts certain disabled veterans from property taxes

This constitutional amendment, if approved by the voters, expands the current exemption from real property
taxes for former prisoners of war with a total service-connected disability to all disabled veterans, as defined in
the amendment.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SIR 66 Washington

Authorizes a property tax exemption for certain senior citizens

This constitutional amendment, if approved by the voters, exempts from taxation all real and personal property
of citizens of this state who are aged 65 or older.
Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SJR 82 Brattin

Replaces the property tax on real property with a sales tax
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This constitutional amendment, if approved by the voters, prohibits counties and political subdivisions from

levying or collecting a tax on real property beginning January 1, 2025.

In lieu of such property tax, the amendment requires a county to impose a sales tax on the sale of real property
at a rate equal to the total combined rate of state and local sales taxes in effect at the location of the property,
provided that all revenues generated by the tax are collected and distributed by the county in the same manner
as the property tax levied prior to January 1, 2025. A taxpayer shall select whether to remit the tax due upon the
transfer of the title of the property, or to remit ten percent of the sales tax due to the county collector upon the
transfer of title of the property, and the remainder within five, ten, or fifteen years in equal annual installments.
Financial institutions that are mortgage servicers shall pay sales tax obligations which they service from escrow
accounts in one payment by the required due date. This amendment also requires a taxpayer who purchases his
or her real property prior to January 1, 2025, to remit a tax equal to the total combined rate of state and local
sales taxes in effect at the location of the property multiplied by the remaining mortgage balance on such
property, provided that all revenues generated by the tax are collected and distributed by the county in the
same manner as the property tax levied prior to January 1, 2025. A taxpayer shall select whether to remit the tax
due by December 31, 2025, 2030, 2035, or 2040, with such payment made in equal annual installments.
Financial institutions that are mortgage servicers shall pay sales tax obligations which they service from escrow
accounts in one payment by the required due date. This amendment also modifies a constitutional provision
prohibiting sales taxes on transactions that were not subject to tax as of January 1, 2015, by providing an
exemption for the sales tax imposed pursuant to the amendment.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

HEALTH CARE/PERSONAL ASSISTANCE
HB 1585 Clemens

Creates provisions relating to the cost of insulin

This bill prohibits insurance plans from charging more than $100 for a thirty-day supply of insulin. The amount is
allowed to increase at the beginning of each calendar year based on the percentage change in the medical
section of the Consumer Price Index. The Departments of Commerce and Insurance, Health and Senior Services,
and Social Services will compile a joint public report on insulin pricing practices, health plan pricing, and policy
recommendations to control and prevent overpricing before November 2, 2024.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1586 Clemens

Allows certain medications in multidose containers used by a patient during a hospital stay to be sent with the

patient at discharge

This bill allows inhalers, ointments, creams, medications requiring the original container for dispensing, insulin
pens and vials, eye drops, ear drops, wearable or on-body medication delivery systems, and infusions that are
currently connected to the patient's infusion device used by a patient during a stay in the hospital to be sent
with the patient when the patient is discharged. Specific procedures that must be followed are included in the
bill.
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Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1632 Pouche

Establishes provisions relating to insurance coverage for insulin drugs and epinephrine auto-injectors

This bill prohibits insurance plans from charging more than $100 for a thirty-day supply of insulin or epinephrine
auto-injectors. The amount is allowed to increase at the beginning of each calendar year based on the
percentage change in the medical section of the Consumer Price Index. The Departments of Commerce and
Insurance, Health and Senior Services, and Social Services will compile a joint public report on insulin and
epinephrine auto-injector pricing practices, health plan pricing, and policy recommendations to control and
prevent overpricing. This will be available before November 1, 2024.

Status: 1/4/24 Referred Healthcare Reform committee (H)

Committee: Healthcare Reform

HB 1918 Doll
Provides for MO HealthNet coverage of hearing aids and cochlear implants

This bill adds medically necessary hearing aids and cochlear implants to the list of items covered by MO HealthNet.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2036 Weber

Establishes provisions relating to allergy prevention and responses in child care facilities

This bill requires each licensed child care facility to adopt a policy on allergy prevention and response with
priority on potentially deadly food-borne allergies before July 1, 2026. The bill specifies the minimum of what is
to be included in the policy. The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education will develop a model
policy by July 1, 2025. Child care facilities are added as an authorized entity for epinephrine auto-injectors.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2082 Gregory

Creates provisions relating to health care benefits provided by certain organizations

This bill states that health care benefits provided by a farm bureau are not insurance under MO law. The bill
requires that all contracts for these benefits include a disclaimer that it is not health insurance and is not subject
to insurance laws and regulations.

Status: 1/4/24 Referred Agriculture Policy committee (H)

Committee: Agriculture Policy

HB 2115 Toalson Reisch
Creates provisions relating to prosthetists and orthotists
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This bill allows prosthetists and orthotists with certain certification to evaluate and provide initial treatment to
patients without a referral or prescription from a physician. It also outlines health insurance company actions
regarding services and devices provided by these professionals.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2182 Stinnett
Requires the department of health and senior services to develop an educational pamphlet on nonopioid

alternatives for the treatment of pain

This bill requires the Department of Health and Senior Services to develop and publish a pamphlet on nonopioid
alternatives for acute, subacute, and chronic pain treatment before January 1, 2025. The bill states what should
be included, where it is to be published and provided, and how often it will be updated.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2262 Nurrenbern

Creates provisions relating to insurance coverage for prescription insulin drugs

This bill prohibits health benefit plans from imposing cost-sharing on someone enrolled in the plan for
prescription insulin drugs that is more than $30 for a 30 day supply. It specifies how the cost-sharing will be
calculated. It also allows it to be calculated differently as long as it does not exceed $30. This would begin
January 1, 2025.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

SB 830 Rowden
Requires the Department of Health and Senior Services to develop a pamphlet on nonopioid alternatives for

pain treatment

Under this act, the Department of Health and Senior Services shall develop and publish on its website an
educational pamphlet on nonopioid alternatives for the treatment of acute, subacute, and chronic pain. No later
than January 1, 2025, and every two years thereafter, the Department shall distribute the most updated version
of the pamphlet to local public health agencies and associations representing the state's federally qualified
health centers, rural health clinics, and community mental health centers.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 943 May

Modifies provisions relating to opioid prescriptions

This act requires practitioners, before an initial opioid prescription and the third in a course of treatment, to
consult with the patient as to the risks of taking opioids and alternatives to opioids. The practitioner shall make
note of the consultation in the patient's medical record. The provisions of this act shall not apply to those in
hospice or palliative care, in a long-term care facility, or receiving treatment for substance abuse or opioid
dependence.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)
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SB 1046 Mosley
Requires health benefit plans to cover prostheses for hair loss due to chemotherapy

This act requires health benefit plans to provide coverage for prostheses and scalp hair prostheses worn for hair
loss suffered as a result of chemotherapy. The coverage is subject to benefit limits and restrictions on out-of-
pocket costs, as specified in the act.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 1102 Mosley

Enacts provisions relating to insurance coverage for cancer treatment

This act enacts "The Missouri Advanced Stage Cancer Cost Burden Cap". The act provides that no health benefit
plan shall impose cost-sharing for treatment of advanced stage cancer, as defined in the act, other than the
deductible otherwise applicable under the plan.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 1182 Arthur

Enacts provisions relating to insurance coverage for prescription insulin drugs

This act prohibits health benefit plans from imposing cost-sharing, as defined in the act, on an enrollee in excess
of $30 per 30-day supply of a prescription insulin drug. This act also requires health benefit plan enrollees' cost-
sharing for prescription insulin drugs to be calculated at the point of sale, and based on a price that is reduced
by an amount equal to at least 100% of all rebates received, or to be received, in connection with the dispensing
or administration of the drug. Nothing in the act shall prohibit copayments not based on the price of a drug,
provided that the copayment does not exceed the reduced price of the drug. The act shall not require a health
carrier or its agents to reveal information regarding the actual amount of rebates a carrier receives on a product,
manufacturer, or pharmacy-specific basis. The act also provides confidentiality protections, as specified in the
act, which the carriers shall follow as well as impose on any third party that performs health care or
administrative services on behalf of the carrier and may receive or have access to rebate information. This act
applies to health benefit plans delivered, issued, continued, or renewed in the state on or after January 1, 2025.
Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SIR76 Carter
Modifies provisions relating to MO HealthNet

If approved by the voters, this constitutional amendment requires, subject to approval of a waiver, able-bodied
adult MO HealthNet participants, ages 19 to 49, to participate in work and community engagement
requirements. Participants shall complete at least 80 hours a month of any combination of specified work,
education, job search, child care, and volunteer services. The Department of Social Services shall provide
reasonable accommodations for individuals with disabilities who are not otherwise exempt from the work and
community engagement requirements under this amendment to ensure that the participants are able to comply

with the requirements, including exemptions, modifications of hours, and the provision of necessary support
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services. MO HealthNet participants who shall not be required to comply with the work and community
engagement requirements include: (1) those under 18 years of age or 50 years of age or older; (2) those who are
medically frail, as defined in the amendment, including those with certain disabilities; (3) those who are
pregnant or caring for a child under one year of age; (4) those who are primary caregivers of a dependent child
under the age of six or a dependent adult; and (5) those who are also participants of Temporary Assistance for
Needy Families or the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program and are exempt from work requirements
under those programs. The Department may permit further exemptions in areas of high unemployment, limited
economies or educational opportunities, or lack of public transportation, or for good cause, as defined in this
amendment.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

LEGAL RIG HTS/RESPONSI BILITIES
HB 1596 Bosley

Adds provisions relating to a landlord failing to remedy a condition that would materially affect the health and

safety of a tenant

This bill makes landlords liable for damages to a tenant if the premises contain conditions that materially affect
the tenant’s health and safety that the tenant did not cause and the landlord does not begin to remediate the
issues within 30 days of written notification. Damages include health care costs. Inspectors are required to
inspect remediated premises to ensure issues have been corrected.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1598 Bosley

Requires election authorities to provide braille ballots on request

This bill requires election authorities to print ballots in Braille and provide them upon request to voters who are
blind or visually impaired.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1641 Terry
Modifies provisions relating to guardianships and conservatorships

This bill makes several changes to guardianships and conservatorships. It adds classifications of guardianship:
General, Specialized, and Forensic. It adds “mental illness” and “cognitive disability” to the definition of
habilitation. It adds language regarding being consistent with the guardianship classification and the words
“welfare”, “life”, and “unnatural death to the definition of “least restrictive alternative”. It adds “medical”,

n o u

“cognitive”, “intellectua

III

, and “developmental” to the definition of treatment. The bill states the court will
appoint people as guardians listed in the order of priority and adds that they must be qualified under section
475.055 and be suitable to serve. It adds “any eligible person nominated by a previous guardian who was in
good standing” to the order of priority. The financial resources of the prospective guardian will not be

considered when determining who is an eligible person. It also requires that it be proven that a prospective
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guardian with whom the person who is incapacitated will reside lives in substandard housing which poses a
danger or unsanitary conditions for the person who is incapacitated and that it is a result of willful negligence by
the prospective guardian before the prospective guardian is disqualified. The Department of Health and Senior
Services will conduct these investigations as well as investigations regarding substandard conditions of any
current or prospective dwelling of a person who is incapacitated. The bill specifies that courts cannot deny a
petition for guardianship because a person lives in low-income housing, receives supplemental security income
or social security disability insurance, has particular wages, or is unemployed. The wishes of the person who is
incapacitated will be taken in to account by courts. Public administrators must maintain records of their criminal
history, record check, credit check, and disqualification list for court inspection as deemed necessary. At any
point, a court can order a guardian or conservator to submit to a criminal background check, fingerprint check,
sex offender registry check, or disqualification list check. The bill states what each guardian or conservator will
be given in relation to these orders. A petition for guardianship must include the guardianship classification
being requested. A guardian’s annual report to the court will also include a statement from and signed by the
ward regarding the performance of the guardian and other specific information regarding the ward’s thoughts
and desires. It adds additional items to the guardian’s report requirements. Specific information in the report
and any mental status review will be sealed by courts. Procedures are established which must occur prior to a
mental status evaluation order. It includes provisions for appointing a successor guardian or conservator and a
temporary guardian or conservator. It adds responsibilities to the guardian’s duties. It states that even though
someone may have a forensic guardianship he/she won’t be committed or incarcerated in an institution or
denied participation in a program solely because of that guardianship classification. The bill creates a statutory
pathway for wards to have equal access to courts and due process. It makes changes to the rights of wards. A
guardian will not include the duties of a durable power of attorney agent if one is also appointed by the court. If
a ward’s capacity is disputed, it is reviewable.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1686 Appelbaum

Establishes the "Missouri Voter Fraud Protection Act"

This bill establishes automatic voter registration. Individual voters can opt out by indicating he/she does not
want to register. Information will be provided to the Secretary of State’s office for each person who completes
an application or does other activities with any of the source agencies specified in the bill. The Secretary of State
will send each individual written notice with a form to complete if he/she wishes to decline voter registration.
Those who don’t decline within 45 days of the notice postmark date will be automatically registered.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1695 Sparks

Modifies provisions relating to abuse and neglect reporting, including a requirement to report companion

animal abuse

This bill requires animal control officers and animal humane investigators to be mandated reporters in cases of

abuse and neglect of children, the elderly, and people with disabilities. It requires animal control officers and
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animal humane investigators to receive one hour of training within the first 60 days of employment to recognize
the signs of abuse or neglect in children, the elderly, and vulnerable persons. The bill also creates a mandated
reporting requirement for certain mental health, educational, protective services, and law enforcement
personnel to report cases of companion animal abuse or neglect to a hotline established by the Missouri Animal
Control Association (MACA). Training will be established for this requirement.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1709 Schnelting
Creates provisions relating to digital surveillance systems in long-term care facilities

This bill requires every long-term care facility to maintain and operate a digital surveillance system which
provides continuous video and audio monitoring and recording of all facility common areas. The bill specifies
what actions will be taken when a facility receives a request for the audio and video recording from a resident,
family member, guardian, or legal representative. The bill outlines legal protections and usage of the recording.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1883 Lewis, Patty

Creates no-excuse absentee voting

This bill removes the requirement that voters provide an excuse for casting an absentee ballot.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1903 Mackey
Establishes the " Marilyn Teitelbaum Death with Dignity Act"

This bill allows someone with a terminal iliness to obtain medication to independently end his/her life from a
physician. The criteria and procedures for obtaining the medication are specified. Disability alone does not
qualify an individual.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1975 Stinnett

Creates a prescribed pediatric extended care facility license issued by the department of health and senior

services

This bill requires that beginning August 28, 2025, individuals establishing, maintaining, or operating a prescribed
pediatric extended care facility must have a license issued by the Department of Health and Senior Services. The
types of facilities that don’t need a license as well as the responsibilities of the Department of Health and Senior
Services are specified.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2000 Mann

Modifies provisions relating to unlawful discriminatory practices and establishes the Missouri Fair Housing Act
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This bill changes several parts of the MO Human Rights Act. It changes motivating factor to contributing factor as
it relates to an adverse employment action or decision. It removes all mention of housing and dwelling. It adds
people acting in the interest of an employer to the definition of employer and employment agency. It alters the
duties of the MO Commission on Human Rights to only employment and public accommodation discrimination
matters. There are some changes to hearings under the Act. It allows individuals to file civil actions for
discrimination even if they have not filed a complaint with the Commission. The bill also establishes the MO Fair
Housing Act. Under the MO Fair Housing Act the MO Commission on Human Rights will discourage, eliminate,
and prevent housing discrimination. This includes providing publications and study results, encouraging local
governments to ensure multifamily dwellings meet the requirements in the Act, and investigating discrimination
complaints. The bill specifies what is considered a discriminatory practice under the MO Fair Housing Act.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2042 Weber

Creates provisions requiring realtors and landlords to provide new residents with voter registration packets

This bill requires that election authorities make information packets for realtors and landlords to provide to new
residents. The packets will include a voter registration form, instructions for the voter registration form, change
of address information, and any other information the election authority deems to be appropriate for inclusion.
Landlords and realtors will give a packet to each new resident.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2052 Schwadron

Modifies provisions relating to elections

Only the sections related to people with disabilities are summarized.

This bill makes voter registration valid for six years from the voter’s birthday. If a name or address change is
submitted the expiration date will be updated. If registration is expired, a voter registration application can be
completed. Election authorities are not allowed to provide information encouraging a voter to vote in favor of or
against an issue or candidate when providing an absentee ballot. The election authority must compare the
signature on the absentee ballot envelope with the signature on record for the voter. If the signatures don’t
match, the ballot will be rejected.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2186 Plank

Modifies provisions relating to marijuana

Only the section related to people with disabilities is summarized.

This bill requires higher education institutions supported by state funds to allow individuals to possess and use
marijuana or products infused with marijuana for medical purposes on each of their campuses.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)
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HB 2229 Merideth

Modifies provisions relating to elections

This bill allows individuals to register to vote before or on election day through an approved online system, at an
established registration location, at any election authority, or at any polling place. It allows any voter to vote
absentee if he/she believes he/she may be prevented from going to a polling place on election day. Absentee
ballot applications will be accepted through the Secretary of State’s website and if available the website of the
election authority. Election authorities will notify any applicant who failed to provide any necessary information
on an absentee ballot application which information was missing and that a ballot cannot be provided until the
missing information is received. The notification will be made via mail and email (if email address is provided). It
instructs the Secretary of State’s office to establish a system for electronic signatures on applications submitted
electronically. Voters whose voter registration application or absentee ballot request is rejected will be provided
with reasons by the election authority. The requirement that new residents who are requesting an absentee
ballot do so in person is removed. The bill makes changes to the ballot envelope. It allows absentee ballots
postmarked by election day and received by the election authority within 7 days after an election to be counted.
An online absentee ballot tracking system will be developed, subject to appropriations. A photo ID card issued
by a school or employer is added to the list of acceptable forms of ID for voting. The Secretary of State will
establish an automatic voter registration system.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2242 Woods
Creates provisions for automatic voter registration

This bill establishes automatic voter registration. Information will be provided to the Secretary of State’s office
for each person who completes an application or does other activities with any of the source agencies specified
in the bill. The Secretary of State will send each election authority a list of individuals who are recommended to
include on voter registration lists. Subject to verification, the election authorities will send a written notice to
those individuals via postcard that their name will be added unless they opt out by returning the postcard.
Individuals will be added after one month. Anytime a postcard is returned the individual will be removed from
the list.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2243 Woods
Allows for same-day voter registration

This bill allows individuals to register to vote on election day.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2248 Francis

Repeals provisions relating to hemp extract
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This bill repeals sections 192.945, 192.947, 195.207, and 261.265 related to using hemp extract for certain
medical conditions.

Status: 1/5/24 Referred Agriculture Policy committee (H)

Committee: Agriculture Policy

SB 791 Roberts
Modifies provisions relating to homelessness

This act provides that a political subdivision located within a charter county or St. Louis City shall, in conjunction
with any law enforcement agency and local continuum of care within its boundaries, develop an ordinance,
order, or policy relating to homeless individuals which shall establish an encampment support team who shall
notify homeless individuals of any relocation to temporary shelters or housing. This act also repeals provisions
relating to unauthorized camping on state grounds and provides that within 30 days from the notification by the
political subdivision, any person living in an encampment shall relocate to a temporary shelter or housing
provided by the political subdivision or another organization and any person in violation of this act shall be guilty
of a class C misdemeanor, unless it is his or her first offense then it shall be a warning.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 832 Eigel
Modifies provisions relating to elections

Only the sections related to people with disabilities are summarized.

Current law permits and regulates the usage of automatic tabulating equipment, electronic voting machines,
and voting machines in elections. This act repeals those provisions and, except as provided below, requires all
ballots to be cast in paper form and hand-counted, as stipulated in law. The act allows for the use of voting
machines designed for accessibility by individuals with disabilities. Such machines shall comply with federal Help
America Vote Act. Additionally, such machines shall print out a paper ballot showing distinguishing marks next
to the voter's choices. The paper ballot printed out shall be identical to the paper ballot used in all other
instances at the election. The SOS shall maintain a database containing the names of all individuals who are
eligible to use a voting machine designed for accessibility. The database shall be updated as changes are made
and every 30 days election authorities shall be given an updated list of registered voters in the jurisdiction of the
election authority who are eligible to use such machines. The act requires all absentee ballots that are mailed to
voters by first class, registered, or certified mail to be postmarked from the same county in which the office of
the election authority is located. This act is effective January 1, 2025.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 863 Thompson Rehder

Modifies provisions relating to medication-assisted treatment and child placement

Under this act, a juvenile court shall not refuse to reunify or otherwise place a child with a parent who, or in a

home in which the parent or any person residing, is utilizing medication-assisted treatment for opioid or other
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substance misuse or dependence because of the use of such treatment or otherwise require the parent or
person to cease utilizing or complete the treatment prior to reunification or placement. Additionally, a family
court shall not require a family court participant utilizing medication-assisted treatment to cease or otherwise
complete treatment prior to reunification with his or her child.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 874 Bean
Repeals provisions relating to hemp extract for the treatment of intractable epilepsy

This act repeals a provision of law relating to the use of hemp extract for treatment of intractable epilepsy.
Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 917 Hoskins
Modifies procedures for counting ballots

Current law permits and regulates the usage of automatic tabulating equipment, electronic voting machines,
and voting machines in elections. This act repeals those provisions and, except as provided below, requires all
ballots to be cast in paper form and hand-counted, as stipulated in law. The act allows for the use of voting
machines designed for accessibility by individuals with disabilities. Such machines shall comply with federal Help
America Vote Act. Additionally, such machines shall print out a paper ballot showing distinguishing marks next
to the voter's choices. The paper ballot printed out shall be identical to the paper ballot used in all other
instances at the election. The Secretary of State shall maintain a database containing the names of all individuals
who are eligible to use a voting machine designed for accessibility. The database shall be updated as changes are
made and every 30 days election authorities shall be given an updated list of registered voters in the jurisdiction
of the election authority who are eligible to use such machines.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 926 Crawford
Modifies provisions relating to elections

Only the sections related to people with disabilities are summarized.

The act allows covered voters who are eligible to vote by submitting a federal postcard application at the office
of the election authority on Election Day even though the person is not registered. Interstate former residents
and new residents may vote by absentee ballot at the office of the election authority on election day for the
offices for which such voters are entitled to vote. The act provides that all lists of absentee ballot applications
for persons with permanent disabilities shall be kept confidential. Such lists of applications shall not be posted or
displayed in an area open to the general public, nor shall such lists of applications be shown to any unauthorized
person. The act expands a provision of law governing the casting and counting of provisional ballots to all public
elections, rather than just particular primary or general elections. This act is effective January 1, 2025.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 932 Arthur

42


https://www.senate.mo.gov/24info/BTS_Web/Bill.aspx?SessionType=R&BillID=213
https://www.senate.mo.gov/Senators/Member/25
https://www.senate.mo.gov/24info/BTS_Web/Bill.aspx?SessionType=R&BillID=171
https://www.senate.mo.gov/Senators/Member/21
https://www.senate.mo.gov/24info/BTS_Web/Bill.aspx?SessionType=R&BillID=1546
https://www.senate.mo.gov/Senators/Member/28
https://www.senate.mo.gov/24info/BTS_Web/Bill.aspx?SessionType=R&BillID=827
https://www.senate.mo.gov/Senators/Member/17

102nd General Assembly 2024 Issue 1, January 5, 2024

Establishes provisions relating to funding of certain activities of public administrators and communication rights

of persons subject to guardianships and conservatorships
This act establishes the "Missouri Public Administrator Fund" for the following purposes:

(1) Any purchase of computer software or hardware to improve the efficiency of the management of the letters
of public administrators of this state and to improve the security of sensitive information relating to the letters

and office of public administrators;

(2) Any travel expenses incurred for in-person or home visits to the wards or protectees of the public

administrator; and

(3) Any programs, seminars, or activities relating to training or instruction in guardianships, conservatorships, or

the operations of the public administrator's office.

Currently, the parents of a minor subject to a guardianship that are unwilling, unable or adjudged unfit to
assume the duties of guardianship may petition and receive periods of visitation upon a determination that the
visitation is in the best interests of the minor. This act repeals this provision and establishes the right to
unimpeded, private, and uncensored communication and visitation for wards subject to guardianship and
protectees subject to conservatorships. However, this act allows a guardian or conservator, upon good cause
shown as provided in the act, to file a motion with the court to order limitations or restrictions on
communications or visitations to the extent necessary to protect the ward or the estate of the protectee if a

guardian or conservator believes that certain communication or visitation causes substantial harm.
The court shall consider the following possible limitations and restrictions in this order:

(1) Placing reasonable time, manner, or place restrictions on the communication or visitation based on the

ward's wishes or the history between the person and the ward or protectee;
(2) Requiring supervised communication or visitation; or

(3) Denying communication or visitation between the person and the ward or protectee, except that supervised

communication or visitation shall be ordered prior to the denial unless the person poses a threat to the ward.

If the ward or protectee, the guardian or conservator, or any interested person reasonably believes that a ward
or protectee's rights or an order issued pursuant to this act has been violated, the ward or protectee, guardian

or conservator, or interested person may move the court to:

(1) Require the guardian or conservator to grant a person access to the ward or protectee;
(2) Restrict, or further restrict, a person's access to the ward or protectee;

(3) Modify the guardian or conservator's duties; or

(4) Discharge and replace the guardian or conservator.

The court may award court costs and reasonable attorney's fees to the prevailing party of a motion filed

pursuant to this act, but no such costs or fees shall be funded by the estate of the ward or protectee.
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Additionally, this act provides that a guardian or conservator shall promptly notify interested persons upon

knowledge of the following events:

(1) A change of residence of the ward or protectee;

(2) The ward staying at a location other than his or her primary residence for more than 7 days;
(3) The ward is admitted to or is discharged from a nursing home or care facility;

(4) The ward is admitted to a hospital for acute or emergency care; and

(5) The death of the ward or protectee and any funeral or burial arrangements, which such notification shall be

made by phone or in person.

A guardian or conservator is not required to provide notice if the interested person informs the guardian or
conservator that the person does not wish to receive such notice or the ward or a court order has expressly
prohibited the guardian or conservator from providing notice to the interested person.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 968 Washington
Modifies provisions relating to use of marijuana by family court participants

Under this act, a family court shall not prohibit a family court participant from possession or use of legal
marijuana, including as a term or condition of successful completion of the family court program. The possession
or use of legal marijuana shall not, by itself, be used to restrict or abridge custodial or parental rights to minor
children in a family or juvenile court proceeding.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 991 Carter
Modifies provisions relating to administrative proceedings relating to MO HealthNet

Currently, MO HealthNet applicants and recipients may initiate an administrative appeal of certain agency
decisions. This act adds decisions made by the Missouri Medicaid Audit and Compliance Unit to the list of

agencies in statute.

Additionally, this act repeals provisions of current law prohibiting the Administrative Hearing Commission from
granting certain stay orders without prior certification in writing from the appropriate federal agency that
federal financial participation will be continued under the stay order.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 995 McCreery
Modifies provisions relating to abuse and neglect reporting, including a requirement to report companion

animal abuse

This act requires animal control officers and animal humane investigators to be mandated reporters in cases of
abuse and neglect of children, the elderly, and other vulnerable persons. Additionally, animal control officers
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and animal humane investigators shall be required to receive one hour of training within the first 60 days of
employment to recognize the signs of abuse or neglect in children, the elderly, and vulnerable persons. This act
creates a mandated reporting requirement for certain mental health, educational, protective services, and law
enforcement personnel to report cases of companion animal abuse or neglect to a hotline established by the
Missouri Animal Control Association (MACA). A "companion animal" is defined in the act as a living creature
maintained by a household for companionship and not commercial purposes. MACA shall provide the report of
abuse or neglect to any duly-authorized law enforcement official, county or municipal animal control officer, or
animal cruelty investigator. If the mandated reporter is an employee of an agency or political subdivision of the
state and fails to make a report as required under this provision, the employer shall send a written notice to the
employee noting the failure and providing a reminder of the requirements of reporting companion animal abuse
or neglect. Additionally, a mandated reporter who fails to make a report shall be subject to discipline by his or
her professional licensing board, as well as a fine, as described in the act. Finally, protective services employees
with direct contact with children, the elderly, and vulnerable persons shall be required to receive one hour of
training within the first 60 days of employment to recognize the signs of abuse or neglect in companion animals.
Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 1055 Black

Establishes the Designated Health Care Decision-Maker Act, which authorizes certain persons to make health

care decisions for certain incapacitated persons

This act establishes the Designated Health Care Decision-Maker Act. The act provides that a health care provider
or health care facility may rely on the exercise of good faith and in accordance with reasonable medical
judgment upon the health care decisions made for a patient by a designated health care decision-maker,
provided that two licensed physicians determine that such patient is incapacitated and has neither a guardian
with medical decision-making authority, an attorney in fact appointed in a durable power of attorney for health
care, is not a child under the jurisdiction of the juvenile court, nor any other known person who has the legal
authority to make health care decisions. Additionally, the physician or another health care provider shall make
reasonable efforts, as described in the act, to inform potential designated health care decision-makers of a
patient's incapacitation. Designated health care decision-makers may be selected from the following persons

listed by priority:

(1) The spouse of the patient;

(2) An adult child of the patient;

(3) A parent of the patient;

(4) An adult sibling of the patient;

(5) A grandparent or adult grandchild;

(6) The niece or nephew or the next nearest relative;

(7) A religious person who is a member of the patient's community;
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(8) Any nonrelative with a close personal relationship who is familiar with the patient's values; or
(9) A person unanimously agree upon by those in the priority list.

Priority shall not be given to those listed if abuse or neglect is reported, the person with priority cannot be
reached by the physician, or if the probate court finds that the person with priority is making decisions contrary
to the patient's instructions. Furthermore, this act does not prevent any person interested in the patient's
welfare, a health care provider, or a health care facility from petitioning the probate court for the appointment
of a guardian. Additionally, this act provides that a designated health care decision-maker shall make reasonable
efforts to obtain information regarding the patient's health preferences and make decisions in the patient's best
interests. Additionally, a designated health care decision-maker may only authorize the withdrawal or
withholding of nutrition or hydration supplied through either natural or artificial means in certain situations as
specified in the act. Once a health care decision-maker or physician believes that the patient is no longer
incapacitated then the patient shall be reexamined. If the patient's physician determines that the patient is no
longer incapacitated, then the physician shall certify the decision and the basis therefor in the patient's medical
record and shall notify the patient, the designated health care decision-maker, and the person who initiated the
redetermination of capacity. Rights of the designated health care decision-maker shall cease upon the
physician's certification that the patient is no longer incapacitated. This act further provides that no health care
provider or health care facility that makes reasonable efforts to locate and communicate with potential
designated health care decision-makers shall be held liable for the effort to identify and communicate with a
potential designated health care decision-maker. Additionally, a health care provider or health care facility may
decline to comply with the decision of a health care decision-maker if the decision is contrary to the religious
beliefs or moral convictions of the provider or facility. If a health care provider declines to comply with a health
care decision of the designated health care decision-maker, no health care provider or health care facility shall
impede the transfer of the patient to another provider or facility willing to comply with the health care decision.
Nothing in this act shall be construed as condoning, authorizing, or approving euthanasia or mercy killing, or as
permitting any affirmative or deliberate act to end a person's life.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 1111 Black

Creates a prescribed pediatric extended care facility license issued by the Department of Health and Senior

Services

Beginning August 28, 2025, it shall be unlawful for any person to establish, maintain, or operate a prescribed
pediatric extended care facility without a license issued by the Department of Health and Senior Services. A
"prescribed pediatric extended care facility" is defined as a facility providing medically necessary
multidisciplinary services to children under 6 years of age with complex medical needs requiring continuous
skilled nursing intervention of at least 4 hours a day under a physician's order. Multidisciplinary services may
include skilled nursing, personal care, nutritional assessment, developmental assessment, and speech, physical,
and occupational therapy. Prescribed pediatric extended care facilities shall also be licensed child care providers

under state law. This act sets forth the Department's authority to issue, suspend, or revoke such licenses, as well
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as conduct inspections and investigations and to promulgate rules to implement the provisions of this act.
Prescribed pediatric extended care facilities with caregiver staffing ratios of one licensed nurse present for every
child present; hospitals, sanitariums, or homes operated for medical treatment or nursing or convalescent care
for children; and certain programs licensed by the Department of Mental Health shall not be required to be
licensed under this act.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 1136 Arthur
Creates new provisions relating to voting accessibility for persons with disabilities

This act creates various new provisions relating to voting accessibility for persons with disabilities.

The act creates a presumption that individuals are competent to vote, regardless of his or her guardianship or
conservatorship status. A person shall be deemed mentally incapacitated for purposes of voting, if, during the
course of any proceedings establishing a guardian or conservator, the court finds by clear and convincing
evidence that the person cannot communicate, with or without reasonable accommodations, a desire to
participate in the voting process, and a conservator or guardian for the person or the estate is appointed. If such
a finding is made, the court shall forward its order and determination to the Secretary of State and the election
authority in the person's jurisdiction. The act stipulates that persons with disabilities under a conservatorship or
guardianship are entitled to register to vote, provided that a court order has not made findings of fact by clear
and convincing evidence that the person cannot communicate, with or without reasonable accommodations, a
desire to participate in the voting process and the individual is not otherwise disqualified from voting. Persons
with disabilities who are otherwise qualified to vote may complete a voter registration form with reasonable
accommodations, as needed. Furthermore, a person shall not be disqualified from voting due to any of the

following:

- Signing a voter registration form with a mark;

- Completing a voter registration form with the assistance of another person; or
- Completing a voter registration form with reasonable accommodations.

Under federal law, all voting systems used in federal elections are required to be accessible for individuals with
disabilities by meeting a specific set of criteria listed under the federal Help America Vote Act. This act requires
the same machines to be used in all elections, including municipal elections. This act is effective January 1, 2025.
Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 1165 Schroer

Modifies provisions relating to marijuana

This act excludes marijuana and THC permitted under the Missouri Constitution from the Schedules of
Controlled Substances in statute. Under this act, no state agency or state employee shall disclose any personally

identifying information of persons who have applied for or obtained a qualifying patient identification card, a
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qualifying patient cultivation identification card, or primary caregiver identification card for medical marijuana
to the federal government or any federal employee, or other unauthorized third party. Any person who
knowingly violates this act shall be guilty of a Class E felony.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 1259 Fitzwater

Modifies provisions relating to abuse and neglect reporting, including a requirement to report companion

animal abuse

This act requires animal control officers and animal humane investigators to be mandated reporters in cases of
abuse and neglect of children, the elderly, and other vulnerable persons. Additionally, animal control officers
and animal humane investigators shall be required to receive one hour of training within the first 60 days of
employment to recognize the signs of abuse or neglect in children, the elderly, and vulnerable persons. This act
creates a mandated reporting requirement for certain mental health, educational, protective services, and law
enforcement personnel to report cases of companion animal abuse or neglect to a hotline established by the
Missouri Animal Control Association (MACA). A "companion animal" is defined in the act as a living creature
maintained by a household for companionship and not commercial purposes. MACA shall provide the report of
abuse or neglect to any duly-authorized law enforcement official, county or municipal animal control officer, or
animal cruelty investigator. If the mandated reporter is an employee of an agency or political subdivision of the
state and fails to make a report as required under this provision, the employer shall send a written notice to the
employee noting the failure and providing a reminder of the requirements of reporting companion animal abuse
or neglect. Additionally, a mandated reporter who fails to make a report shall be subject to discipline by his or
her professional licensing board, as well as a fine, as described in the act. Finally, protective services employees
with direct contact with children, the elderly, and vulnerable persons shall be required to receive one hour of
training within the first 60 days of employment to recognize the signs of abuse or neglect in companion animals.
Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SIR78 Ben Brown
Modifies provisions relating to elections

Only the section related to people with disabilities is summarized.

This joint resolution proposes a constitutional amendment related to elections. The amendment specifies that
all elections shall be by paper ballot or by any mechanical method prescribed by law.
Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

MENTAL HEALTH
HB 1495 Griffith

Tasks the Missouri veterans commission with expanding its efforts to prevent veteran suicide
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This bill requires the Missouri Veterans Commission must review the provisions of the Commander John Scott
Hannon Veterans Mental Health Care Improvement Act of 2019, and any regulations related thereto. After
review, the Commission, in collaboration with the Department of Mental Health, must provide
recommendations and make efforts to adopt procedures, programs, treatment options, additional aid, and any
other assistance deemed necessary by the Commission to assist in the efforts to prevent veteran suicide, subject
to appropriation. On or before July 1, 2025, and by every July 1st thereafter the Commission must file a report
with the Department of Public Safety and the General Assembly on the recommendations, implementation, and
effectiveness of the efforts by the Commission to prevent veteran suicide.

Status: 1/9/24 Hearing Scheduled (H)

Committee: Veterans

HB 1723 Crossley

Creates provisions relating to dialectical behavior therapy

This bill creates the Dialectical Behavior Therapy Task Force and outlines the membership
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1830 McMullen

Creates provisions relating to alternative therapies

This bill requires the Department of Health and Senior Services, in collaboration with a Missouri university
hospital or contract research organizations conducting trials approved by the U.S. Food and Drug
Administration, to conduct a study on the efficacy of using alternative medicine and therapies, including, , for
the treatment of patients suffering post-traumatic stress disorder, treatment-resistant depression, substance
abuse disorders, or who require end-of-life care, as described in the bill. The study will include a clinical trial of
psilocybin, a literature review, and the submission of various reports. The bill provides protections for
individuals involved in the study.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1915 Doll

Creates provisions relating to perinatal care

This bill requires all maternity health care providers to screen all pregnant women for mental disorders and
illnesses throughout pregnancy. Providers will utilize a validated and evidence-based screening tool. It requires
providers who identify a patient in need of treatment to provide treatment or make a treatment referral. The
Department of Health and Senior Services will develop treatment guidelines which will be posted on the
Department website. The bill also requires the Department of Health and Senior Services to establish a perinatal
navigator program.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

SB 768 Thompson Rehder

Modifies provisions relating to alternative therapies and treatments, including psilocybin
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Under this act, any person who acquires, uses, produces, possesses, transfers, or administers psilocybin for the
person's own therapeutic use shall not be subject to state or local criminal or civil penalties if the person: (1) is
21 years of age or older, (2) suffers from a condition listed in the act, (3) has enrolled or sought to be enrolled in
a clinical trial to study psilocybin to treat such conditions, (4) informs the Department of Health and Senior
Services that they plan to acquire, use, produce, possess, transfer, or administer psilocybin under this act, (5)
provides the Department with specified documentation and information, (6) ensures the psilocybin is tested in a
licensed laboratory, and (7) limits the use of psilocybin to no more than 150 milligrams of psilocybin analyte
during any 12-month period. A person who assists another in any of the acts permitted under this act and any
laboratory testing psilocybin under this act shall not be subject to state or local criminal or civil penalties.
Subject to appropriation, the Department of Health and Senior Services shall provide grants totaling $2 million
dollars for research on the use and efficacy of psilocybin for the treatment of conditions listed in the act. The
Department shall prepare annual reports for the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, and the General Assembly on
the implementation and outcomes of psilocybin use under this act. No state agency shall disclose to the federal
government or any unauthorized third party the statewide list or any individual information of persons who
meet the requirements of this act. Additionally, this act modifies current law on the use of investigational drugs
and devices for individuals with terminal ilinesses to include individuals with life-threatening or severely
debilitating conditions or illnesses. Currently, investigational drugs shall not include Schedule | controlled
substances. This act repeals that prohibition. Finally, this act requires the Department, in collaboration with a
Missouri university hospital or contract research organizations conducting FDA-approved trials, to conduct a
study on the efficacy of using alternative medicine and therapies, including, but not limited to, the use of
psilocybin, for the treatment of patients suffering post-traumatic stress disorder, major depressive disorder,
substance use disorders, or who require end-of-life care, as described in the act. Such study shall include a
clinical trial of psilocybin, as well as a literature review and the submission of various reports. No person
participating in the clinical trial shall be subject to criminal or civil liability or sanction for participating, except in
cases of gross negligence or willful misconduct.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

OLMSTEAD
No pending bills

SAFETY/PREVENTION
HB 1614 Van Schoiack

Repeals the motor vehicle seat belt requirement

This bill repeals the seat belt requirement for motor vehicles. It also includes punishment information for not
securing a child in a booster seat or seatbelt.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1997 Mann
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Requires public institutions of higher education to have opioid overdose rescue kits available for public use on

campus

This bill requires all two and four year higher education institutions to have opioid overdose rescue kits available
on campus for use by the public before January 1, 2025. It is specified what will be included in the kits. The
Department of Higher Education and Workforce Development will consult with the Department of Health and
Senior Services to ensure each campus has one.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2124 Mackey
Establishes extreme risk protection orders and gun violence seizure warrants and prohibits certain persons

involved in domestic violence from possessing a firearm

This bill allows anyone to petition a court for an extreme risk protection order (ERPO). An ERPO will be issued if a
court finds probable cause to believe that someone who is subject to an ERPO owns or possesses a firearm the
court will issue a firearm seizure warrant. The bill outlines the procedure to occur after the warrant is issued. A
hearing will be held within 14 days and it must be proven that the individual possesses a significant risk of
personal injury to him/herself or others by having the firearm. If it is proven, the firearm will be retained for up
to a year along with the individual being prohibited from owning, possessing, controlling, or purchasing a
firearm for up to a year. In certain circumstances a hearing is not required and renewals may be requested. The
bill includes provisions regarding seizure of firearms during domestic violence incidents. The bill also specifies
instances when it is unlawful for someone to have a firearm.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2076 Marquart

Modifies provisions relating to requirements for certain off-road vehicles

This bill requires operators of all-terrain vehicles, utility vehicles, and recreational off-highway vehicles driving
on a highway in MO to maintain proof of financial responsibility or have appropriate liability coverage. Utility
vehicles operated on highways must have appropriate signage as outlined in the bill. Low-speed vehicles are
required to have certain lights. Seatbelts are to be worn by all operators and passengers of utility, low-speed,
and recreational off-highway vehicles. Passengers are not allowed to ride in an area not designed for seating.
Status: 1/5/24 Referred Insurance Policy committee (H)

Committee: Insurance Policy

SB 1155 Mosley
Creates the CTF Medical Alert System

This act creates the Christian Taylor Ferguson ("CTF") Medical Alert System to aid in identifying and locating a
missing endangered person, defined as a person, including a child, who is missing under unexplained,
involuntary, or suspicious circumstances and who is believed to be in danger because of a medical condition that

requires immediate care, medication, or treatment. The CTF Medical Alert System shall be set up and
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maintained in a manner similar to the Amber Alert System. The Department of Public Safety shall develop
regions to provide the system and to coordinate local law enforcement agencies and public commercial
television and radio broadcasters. The Department shall also administer and promulgate rules to implement the
provisions of this act. Persons knowingly making a false report to trigger an alert under this act shall be guilty of
a Class A misdemeanor.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SERVICES
HB 1560 Cook

Prohibits temporary assistance for needy families (TANF) benefit cards from being used at ATMs or to access

cash, and limits the items that may be purchased with TANF benefits

This bill prohibits TANF and SNAP recipients from using benefit cards at ATMs or to access cash. It also prohibits
using TANF and SNAP benefits to purchase certain products specified in the bill. The Department of Social
Services will apply for any necessary waivers from the federal government to implement these restrictions.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2071 Mayhew

Establishes the position of dementia services coordinator within the department of health and senior services

This bill establishes a full-time dementia services coordinator position within the division of Senior and Disability
Services in the Department of Health and Senior Services. The bill specifies the duties of the position.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2116 Thomas

Establishes provisions relating to foster care services for youth with elevated needs

This bill allows classification categories of sibling groups with elevated needs who are in foster care to be
changed without the need for a completed elevated needs assessment if certain documents are provided to the
Department of Social Services Children’s Division within a timeframe stated in the bill. It also allows sibling
groups who have members who are re-classified as having elevated needs level A to be recategorized as a group
if certain documentation is provided within the timeframe stated in the bill. The bill also details
reimbursements.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2215 Brown

Creates provisions relating to alternative therapies for veterans with PTSD and traumatic brain injuries

This bill creates the Veterans Traumatic Brain Injury Treatment and Recovery Act. It allows the MO Veterans
Commission to pay for the treatment of veterans with posttraumatic stress disorder and traumatic brain injury
using hyperbaric oxygen therapy if criteria stated in the bill are met. There are certain responsibilities facilities
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who receive funds must complete. The bill also instructs the Department of Health and Senior Services to award
funds to entities to study the use of alternative treatments to veterans with post-traumatic stress disorder or
traumatic brain injury. The bill states what reports are to be submitted.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

SB 973 Mosley
Establishes a "Restaurant Meals Program" as part of the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)

This act requires the Department of Social Services to establish a "Restaurant Meals Program" as part of the
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP). Under this program, households containing certain elderly,
disabled, or homeless individuals shall have the option, in accordance with federal law, to redeem their SNAP
benefits at private establishments that contract with the Department to offer meals, including hot food and
meals intended for immediate consumption, for eligible persons at concessional prices.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

OTHER
HB 1451 Veit

Modifies provisions relating to the issuance and renewal of license plates and placards for persons with
disabilities

This bill removes the requirement for individuals with a permanent disability who provided a physician
statement or statement from the Veterans Administration verifying a permanent disability with his/her original
application for a disabled license plate or permanent placard to submit a physician statement for renewal of

those plates or placards. It also increases the renewal period for placards to every 8 years.
Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1605 Van Schoiack

Modifies provisions relating to certificates of need

This bill changes the granting of certificates of need for certain applying facilities. It changes the consideration
distances for urban and rural areas. The bill also adds that new and additional bed requests may be denied if the
minimum average occupancy is not at least 80% of the recent beds report. The bill adds responsibilities to the
committee.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1814 Riggs

Modifies provisions relating to task forces

Only sections related to people with disabilities are summarized.

This bill establishes the Missouri Technology Task Force. The Task Force will evaluate and make
recommendations on various aspects of the technology the state uses for operations. One aspect the Task Force

will consider is adaptive technology initiatives the state could use. A report will be given to the general assembly
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before August 28, 2025. Membership and the structure of the Task Force are specified in the bill. It also
establishes the 21%*Century MO Social Services Gap Analysis Task Force. The Task Force will evaluate the
condition of MQ’s social services system, the funding of the system and whether it is sufficient to maintain the
system and continue services and meet needs as the 21 century proceeds, identify system gaps, study
successful systems in other states, and make recommendations for funding and the filling of any gaps. The bill
specifies which types of organizations and agencies will be part of the Task Force membership. A statewide
nonprofit involved with disability issues is included.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 1825 Smith, Travis

Creates provisions relating to inspections of residential care facilities and assisted living facilities

This bill allows residential care facilities and assisted living facilities who are accredited by certain entities to
submit the accreditation status and in good standing documentation to the Department of Health and Senior
Services in any year to waive an on-site inspection of the facility.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2221 Anderson
Modifies provisions for providing copies of medical records

This bill requires that health care providers and health care facilities not charge a fee for any medical or mental health
records requested by a patient, former patient, attorney, or other authorized representative if the records will be
used to apply for benefits. The provider or health care facility may provide the records in the most cost-effective
form. If the format is electronic, the format must be universally accessible.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

HB 2234 Sauls
Modifies provisions for providing copies of medical records

This bill requires that health care providers and health care facilities not charge a fee for any medical or mental
health records requested by a patient, former patient, attorney, or other authorized representative if the
records will be used to apply for benefits. The provider or health care facility may provide the records in the
most cost-effective form. If the format is electronic, the format must be universally accessible.

Status: 1/4/24 Second Read (H)

SB 912 Ben Brown
Modifies provisions relating to motor vehicles

Only the section related to people with disabilities is summarized.

This act provides that applicants for a disabled license plate or windshield placard who have presented proof of
disability in the form of a statement from the United States Veterans' Administration verifying that the person is

permanently disabled shall not be required to provide physician's statements of physical disability for issuance
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or renewal of the license plate or windshield placard. The act also specifies that disabled windshield placards
shall be renewed every 8 years, rather than 4, and makes technical modifications to the underlying statute.
Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 990 Carter
Enacts provisions relating to transportation for disabled persons

This act specifies that if an applicant for a disabled person license plate or windshield placard has presented a
physician's statement noting that the applicable physical disability is permanent, a physician's statement shall
not be required in order to renew the plate or placard. The act also makes technical modifications to the
underlying statute.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 1073 Hoskins
Modifies the membership of the Missouri Housing Development Commission

Current law provides that the Missouri Housing Development Commission shall be composed of ten members.
This act adds four additional members to the Commission. Two members shall be members of the Senate, one
of which shall be from the majority party appointed by the President Pro Tempore and one of which shall be
from the minority party appointed by the minority leader. The remaining two members shall be members of the
House of Representatives, one of which shall be from the majority party appointed by the Speaker of the House
and one of which shall be from the minority party appointed by the minority leader.

Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 1087 Moon

Repeals the certificate of need law

This act repeals the certificate of need law and certain statutory references to the law.
Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

SB 1184 Arthur

Modifies provisions relating to the Missouri Housing Trust Fund

Under current law, a user fee of four dollars is charged for the recording of any instrument with the county
recorder of deeds. An additional fee of three dollars is charged for the recording of certain instruments, such as
deeds, mortgages, conveyances, and deeds of trust, which is then deposited in the Missouri Housing Trust Fund.
The county recorder of deeds collects these fees and remit them to the Department of Revenue. This act
changes the additional fee for the recording of these certain instruments from three dollars to nine dollars.
Under current law, the money in the Missouri Housing Trust Fund is used to financially assist households with a
combined adjusted gross income equal to or less to certain percentages of the median family income for the
geographical area. This act modifies these provisions to include households with a combined adjusted gross
income equal to or less than 50% of the median family income to be eligible for financial assistance for housing.

This act also provides that households with a combined adjusted gross income equal to or less than 30% shall be
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eligible for financial assistance for certain residential occupancy projects. Finally, this act requires that no less
than 50% of the funds shall be allocated to rental support projects.
Status: 1/3/24 Introduced and First Read (S)

APPROPRIATIONS
No pending bills
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